The victorious Tooreen U-15 hurlers.
The victorious Tooreen U-15 hurlers.

Tooreen triumph in Táin Óg U-15 Hurling Final

Táin Óg U-15 Hurling Final


Mayo’s Tooreen claimed silverware in the national Tain Og U15 competition, thanks to a hard-fought defeat of Sligo’s Coolera/Strandhill at the Sligo Centre of Excellence in Scarden last Saturday.

Two first half goals from Darragh Ganley proved crucial, and the Mayo side’s ability to convert their goal chances ultimately was the difference between the teams.

Coolera had the first score with a point from the impressive Thomas Kinane, but Brian Greally replied and Darragh Ganley scored his two goals from play soon after as Tooreen took a commanding lead.

Jake Powers had a great game in goal for Tooreen and pulled off the first of a number of good saves to deny Conor Finan, before David Delaney added to Tooreen’s tally.

Powers pulled off a couple more great saves to deny Finn McDaniel and Conor Finan as Coolera tried to respond, before Jack McDaniel finally found the range for the Sligo boys.

And they finally got a breakthrough goal when Finn McDaniel and Jack McDaniel combined to set up Thomas Kinane for a three-pointer.

But just as Coolera thought they were clawing Tooreen back, Cathal Forde netted a third goal and Oisin Casey’s free soon after meant they led by 3-3 to 1-2 at half-time.

Despite Tooreen’s advantage, the second half remained just as competitive as the first, though the winning side had a great start once again, with Fionn Delaney netting goal number four for them.

The Coolera-Strandhill U-15 hurlers. 
The Coolera-Strandhill U-15 hurlers. 

James Lynch and Alan Lawlor kept Coolera driving forward from midfield, with Lynch pointing a fine score from play on 32 minutes.

And after Jake Powers made two more great saves to denny Shane O’Loughlin and Conor Finan, Tooreen claimed a fifth goal through Ian Murray on the counter-attack.

Oisin Whelan netted in response almost immediately for Coolera, and followed up with a brilliant point over his shoulder, while Conor Finan and Jack McDaniel also scored as Coolera finished strongly.

But they couldn’t get the goals they needed and Oisin Casey rounded off the win for Tooreen with a pointed free to leave the final score Tooreen 5-6, Coolera/Strandhill 2-6.

TOOREEN: Jake Powers, Cullen Glavey, Evan McNamara, Oisin Casey, Matthew Delaney, Dylan Groarke, Shane Gallagher, Robbie Irvine (Captain), Brian Greally, Fionn Delaney, David Delaney, Darragh Ganley, Ian Murray, Eoghan Conlan.

COOLERA: Ben Lawlor, Aidan O’Loughlin, Cormac Mullins, Kevin Parkes, Finn McDaniel, Tristan Guilfoyle, Ronan Adams, Jack McDaniel (captain), Alan Lawlor, Conor Finan, James Lynch, Mark Keane, Oisin Whelan, Thomas Kinane, Shane O’Loughlin.