Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cup draws made

Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cup draws made

Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cup draws made

Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cup draws made

The draws for the 2016 Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cups took place in Croke Park on Wednesday afternoon.

The competitions, which are sponsored by Independent.ie, are the premier prizes available in third level GAA and take place in January and February. This year's Sigerson Cup finals weekend will be hosted by the Ulster University at Jordanstown while the Fitzgibbon Cup finals will be held at Cork IT in Bishopstown.

The draws for the Trench Cup, Ryan Cup, Corn na Mac Léinn, Fergal Maher Cup, Corn Comhairle Ardoideachais and Corn Padraig MacDiarmada also took place today. Details of those draws are available here.

In the Sigerson Cup, defending champions DCU have been drawn to face Athlone IT in Round 1. The winners of that game will face either IT Carlow or IT Sligo for a place in the semi-finals. Last year's beaten finalists, UCC, will face either St Pat's Drumcondra or GMIT in Round 1.

In the Fitzgibbon Cup, defending champions UL have been drawn in Group C with DIT, NUI Galway and Mary I. There are four groups in total, with the winners and runners-up advancing to the quarter-finals.

See details of the two competitions below.


Preliminary Round (first team at home) - January 26/27

Trinity v NUI Galway (1)Cork IT v Garda College (2)St Pat's Drumcondra v GMIT (3)

Round 1 (first team at home) - January 26/27, February 2/3

UCC v Winners Game 3 (A)Winners Game 1 v UCD (B)UL v IT Tralee (C)Maynooth v Queens University (D)University of Ulster v Winners Game 2 (E)St Mary's v DIT (F)IT Carlow v IT Sligo (G)DCU v Athlone IT (H)

Quarter-Finals - February 10/February 11

Winners A v Winners B (I)Winners C v Winners D (J)Winners E v Winners F (K)Winners G v Winners H (L)

Semi-Finals (Hosted by UU, Antrim) - February 19

Winners I v Winners JWinners K v Winners L

Final - February 20


Group A: UCC, UCD, Maynooth, LITGroup B: IT Carlow, DCU, St Pats Mater Dei, WITGroup C: DIT, UL, NUI Galway, Mary IGroup D: CIT, GMIT, UU

Round 1 on January 28Round 2 on February 4Round 3 on February 9

Quarter-Finals (Group Winners at home) - February 16/February 17

Winners Group A v Runner Up Group B (E)Winners Group B v Runner Up Group A (F)Winners Group C v Runner Up Group D (G)Winners Group D V Runner Up Group C (H)

Semi-Finals - February 26 (Hosted by Cork IT)

Winners Game E v Winners Game GWinners Game F v Winners Game H

Final - February 27

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions