Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG



Preview: Weekend's Ulster SFC action

Derry senior football manager Rory Gallagher. Photo by Sam Barnes/Sportsfile

Derry senior football manager Rory Gallagher. Photo by Sam Barnes/Sportsfile

Ulster Senior Football Championship Quarter-Finals

Saturday April 15

Fermanagh v Derry, Brewster Park, 5pm

This will be the first Ulster Championship clash between Fermanagh and Derry since 2011.

Last year's triumph was a significant achievement for Derry, who have subsequently earned promotion to Division One of the Allianz Football League.

Fermanagh, though, enjoyed an encouraging league campaign themselves, earning Division Two status.

Both counties suffered Croke Park defeats in their respective divisional deciders, but the work being carried out by Rory Gallagher and Kieran Donnelly offers a real source of optimism.

Injuries disturbed Derry against Dublin so the Ulster champions are encouraged that Chrissy McKaigue and Conor Glass are available for a tricky test in Enniskillen.

Shane McGuigan continues to impress in attack, while Ethan Doherty's industry is vital for Derry.

Ultan Kelm enjoyed a productive spell in the league for Fermanagh, while Darragh McGurn has been instrumental also.

The Cullens and Ryan Jones are others making an impact for Fermanagh, who will be striving to cause a surprise on home turf.

Fermanagh: Seán McNally, Luke Flanagan, Che Cullen, Cian McManus, Jonathan Cassidy, Shane McGullion, Lee Cullen, Ryan Jones, Brandon Horan, Aidan Breen, Ryan Lyons, Ronan McCaffrey, Ultan Kelm, Darragh McGurn, Josh Largo Ellis, Jack Kelly, Declan McCusker, Conor McShea, Conal Jones, Garvan Jones, Conor McGee, Fionan O'Brien, Tommy McCaffrey, Oisín Smyt, Garrett Cavanagh, Stephen McGullion.

Derry: Odhran Lynch, Chrissy McKaigue, Padraig McGrogan, Conor McCluskey, Conor Doherty, Gareth McKinless, Padraig Cassidy, Conor Glass, Brendan Rogers, Niall Toner, Paul Cassidy, Ethan Doherty, Benny Heron, Shane McGuigan, Niall Loughlin, Ryan Scullion, Paul McNeill, Shea Downey, Eoghan McEvoy, Matthew Downey, Ciaran McFaul, Ben McCarron, Lachlan Murray, Declan Cassidy, Conleth McGuckian, Niall O'Donnell.

Joe Oguz, Tyrone, and Killian Lavelle, Monaghan, in Allianz Football League action. Photo by Daire Brennan/Sportsfile

Joe Oguz, Tyrone, and Killian Lavelle, Monaghan, in Allianz Football League action. Photo by Daire Brennan/Sportsfile

Sunday April 16

Tyrone v Monaghan, O'Neill's Healy Park, 4pm

Tyrone and Monaghan are well versed in these types of high stakes Championship matches on the provincial and national stage.

Making an Ulster Championship impact, though, matters deeply to these teams.

Tyrone endured some disappointing results early on in the Allianz Football League, but eventually won four matches.

Monaghan added another dramatic last afternoon escape mission to the account with Conor McManus' class helping to earn victory over Mayo in Castlebar.

That was a real boost for Vinny Corey's outfit, who have a real blend of established and emerging players.

Tyrone, All-Ireland winners in 2021, endured plenty of disappointing days last year, but Brian Dooher and Fergal Logan's panel are especially eager to embark on another adventure.

Darren McCurry was prominent in the league, while Darragh Canavan also impressed for Tyrone, who know all about Monaghan's willingness to get runners thundering forward.

There is no shortage of experience in the Monaghan panel with Rory Beggan, Kieran Duffy, Karl O'Connell, Darren Hughes, and Jack McCarron extremely capable footballers.

Tyrone: Niall Morgan, Michael McKernan, Ronan McNamee, Padraig Hampsey, Conor Meyler, Peter Harte, Cormac Quinn, Brian Kennedy, Conn Kilpatrick, Frank Burns, Michael O'Neill, Kieran McGeary, Darren McCurry, Mattie Donnelly, Darragh Canavan, Benny Gallen, Ruairi Canavan, Niall Devlin, Rory Donnelly, Nathan McCarron, Micheal McGleenan, Cathal McShane, Cormac Munroe, David Mulgrew, Joe Oguz, Niall Sludden.

Monaghan: Rory Beggan, Thomas McPhillips, Kieran Duffy, Ryan Wylie, Conor Boyle, Dessie Ward, Ryan O'Toole, Darren Hughes, Killian Lavelle, Stephen O'Hanlon, Micheál Bannigan, Conor McCarthy, Jack McCarron, Karl Gallagher, Conor McManus, Darren McDonnell, Seán Jones, Aaron Mulligan, Shane Carey, Karl O'Connell, Fintan Kelly, Jason Irwin, Kieran Hughes, Darragh McElearney, Francie Hughes, Kevin Loughran.