Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Donal O'Hare, Burren, and Aaron Branagan, Kilcoo, during the 2017 Down SFC Final.
Donal O'Hare, Burren, and Aaron Branagan, Kilcoo, during the 2017 Down SFC Final.

Preview: Sunday's County Football Finals action

Sunday 14 October

Down SFC Final

Burren v Kilcoo, Pairc Esler, 4pm

These are glorious times for Kilcoo, who are seeking to claim a seventh Down title in a row this weekend.

Kilcoo have set the standard for much of the past decade and the 1-13 to 2-6 semi-final success over Warrenpoint showcased their class once more.

Ceilum Doherty made several important interventions, while Paul Devlin and Conor Laverty carry a potent scoring threat.

Since last winning the Championship in 2011 Burren have been beaten by Kilcoo in three deciders.

Burren, managed by Paddy O'Rourke, will be anxious to provide a stern test for the standard bearers.

Laois SFC Final

O'Dempseys v Portlaoise, O'Moore Park, 3.30pm

Having claimed 10 of the last 11 Laois Championships Portlaoise are warm favourites to earn another success this weekend.

O'Dempseys have improved in recent years, but will need to be diligent defensively against Portlaoise, who struck 4-15 against St Joseph's at the penultimate stage.

Ricky Maher, Paul Cahillane, Ciaran McEvoy, and Scott Lawless all netted goals during that triumph.

Leitrim SFC Final

Aughawillan v Mohill, Pairc Sean MacDiarmada, 3pm

This promises to be an interesting encounter in Carrick-on-Shannon involving two clubs who between them have won the last four Leitrim titles.

Aughawillan were victorious in 2014, while holders Mohill enjoyed success in 2015 and 2017.

Mohill signalled their intent with a dynamic 3-19 to 0-11 semi-final win against Glencar/Manorhamilton.

Aughawillan, though, are managed by the respected Tommy McCormack so this should be a lively affair.

Abbeylara's Robbie Smyth netted a penalty in the 2017 Longford SFC Final against St Columba's, Mullinalaghta.
Abbeylara's Robbie Smyth netted a penalty in the 2017 Longford SFC Final against St Columba's, Mullinalaghta.

Longford SFC Final replay

Abbeylara v Mullinalaghta, Pearse Park, 3.45pm

The drawn game was tight, tense, and tactical in difficult conditions.

Who will prevail in the replay? St Columba's, Mullinalaghta have set a good standard in Longford, but Abbeylara are willing challengers.

James McGivney's black card in the first game was a blow for Mullinalaghta, while Robbie Smyth's return is a boost for Abbeylara.

Another hard fought contest is expected in the midlands between two evenly matched outfits.

Meath SFC Final

Dunboyne v Summerhill, Pairc Tailteann, 3.30pm

Two teams gaining in belief and confidence collide in Navan with the Keegan Cup a mighty prize for the winners.

Dunboyne's victory over champions Simonstown Gaels was noteworthy, while Summerhill also enjoyed a positive result against Donaghmore/Ashbourne.

Donal Lenihan is an accomplished forward and will to be monitored by Summerhill, who look to Davy Dalton for inspiration.

Offaly SFC Final

Ferbane v Rhode, O'Connor Park, 4pm

Since 2004 Rhode have claimed nine Offaly titles and are renowned for their ability to deliver in deciders.

Ferbane found that out in 2016 when losing at this stage by 1-14 to 0-9 against Rhode.

Oisin Kelly blasted two late goals to seal a hugely satisfying semi-final victory for Ferbane against Clara, but a couple of worrying injuries were suffered in that game.

Ruairi McNamee netted a goal for Rhode, who overcame Tullamore and are now seeking to earn a 10th crown in 15 years.

Roscommon SFC Final

Clann na Gael v St Brigids, Dr Hyde Park, 4pm

Plenty of interesting sub plots exist with two Roscommon heavyweights clashing at the Hyde.

Clann na nGael, the most prolific winners in the county, have watched Brigid's emerge as a serious powerhouse.

Since 1996 Clann have only won one title with Brigid's claiming 11 in that period so this will be a match worth monitoring.

The 1997 Roscommon decider was an important moment for Brigid's when they overcame Clann, who have returned to prominence in recent years.

Donie Shine struck seven points for Clann in the semi-final win over Roscommon Gaels, while Dara Pettit thundered forward to blast the decisive goal.

Brigid's, managed by Frankie Dolan, are stuffed with former and present senior inter-county talent.

St Brigid's manager Frankie Dolan.
St Brigid's manager Frankie Dolan.

Sligo SFC Final

Tourlestrane v Tubbercurry, Enniscrone, 4pm

Encouraged by their 2016 and 2017 triumphs, Tourlestrane are gunning to complete a three in a row against Tubbercurry.

The top two in the Sligo roll of honour are well aware of the significant questions that will be posed.

Tubbercurry have won 20 Sligo Championships, while Tourlestrane's record includes 13 triumphs.

Eamonn O'Hara and Gerry McGowan's Tourlestrane beat Coolera-Strandhill by 3-12 to 1-9 at the semi-final stage, while Tubbercurry defeated Coolaney/Mullinabreena by 2-10 to 2-8.

Wexford SFC Final

Kilanerin v Shelmaliers, Innovate Wexford Park, 3.15pm

Shelmaliers are aiming for a first ever Wexford Football title against Killanerin, who have returned to prominence in the county.

Mattie Forde remains an influential figure for Killanerin, who won the Intermediate Championship last year.

Shels beat holders Starlights in the semi-final by 2-16 to 0-12 with Craig McCabe's 2-5 haul pivotal.

Wicklow SFC Final

Rathnew v St Patricks, Aughrim, 3pm

Rathnew returned to the summit of the Wicklow game last year, but they face a tricky assignment against St Patrick's.

Since winning in 2012 Patrick's have suffered three final defeats including two against Rathnew in 2014 and 2015.

The decorated Leighton Glynn continues to make an impact for Rathnew, who have won 15 Wicklow Championships since 1996.

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions