Micheal Lundy fisted a late equaliser for Corofin against Mountbellew-Moylough at Pearse Stadium.
Micheal Lundy fisted a late equaliser for Corofin against Mountbellew-Moylough at Pearse Stadium.

Lundy leveller ensures Corofin survive

Galway SFC Final


By Cian O'Connell at Pearse Stadium

All Ireland champions Corofin survived a real scare as Micheal Lundy fisted an equaliser deep into stoppage time in Salthill.

Underdogs Mountbellew-Moylough, who were disciplined throughout a tight encounter, had reeled off three points without reply in the closing stages to hit the front.

Corofin, though, remained cool late on crafting a last gasp opportunity with captain Lundy supplying a flash of inspiration in the dying embers of a tactical tussle.

Michael Daly, Mountbellew-Moylough's talisman, was marked by Dylan Wall initially before Daithi Burke assumed the role during a tense first half.

While scores were scarce there was no shortage of intrigue and sub plots as Mountbellew-Moylough frustrated Corofin, who trailed by 0-3 to 0-1 as the interval approached.

Martin Farragher and Gary Sice, who remains an influential figure for Corofin, struck quickfire points to ensure the teams were deadlocked at the interval.

When the action recommenced Sice and Liam Silke mined points for Corofin, who were struggling to deal with Mountbellew-Moylough’s style and system.

Mountbellew-Moylough manager Michael Donnellan, a native of Corofin, had his team primed for this match and they struck four of the next five points to take the lead.

Barry McHugh’s free taking was sharp and two minutes into stoppage time the Galway forward edged Mountbellew-Moylough ahead.

Corofin, though, demonstrated admirable character when demanding questions were being posed with Lundy’s leveller forcing a replay in the west.

Scorers for Corofin: Gary Sice 0-3, Liam Silke, Kieran Molloy, Martin Farragher, and Micheal Lundy 0-1 each.

Scorers for Mountbellew-Moylough: Barry McHugh 0-4 (2fs, 145), Colin Ryan, Paul Donnellan, and Eoin Finnerty 0-1 each.

COROFIN: Bernard Power; Cathal Silke, Kieran Fitzgerald, Liam Silke; Kieran Molloy, Dylan McHugh, Dylan Wall; Daithi Burke, Ronan Steede; Gary Sice, Michael Farragher, Jason Leonard; Martin Farragher, Ian Burke, Micheal Lundy.

Subs: Colin Brady for Martin Farragher (36, BC), Conor Cunningham for Wall (53), Dylan Canney for Burke (59).

MOUNTBELLEW-MOYLOUGH: Damien Boyle; Mark Mannion, Colin Murray, Mark Mannion; Noel McDonagh, Ger Donaghue, John Daly; Michael Daly, Matthew Barrett; Stephen Boyle, Paul Donnellan, Leo Donnellan; Eoin Finnerty, Barry McHugh, Colm Mannion.

Subs: Colin Ryan for Mannion (53), David Hogan for McDonagh (56), Billy Mannion for Boyle (60).

REFEREE: James Molloy.