Kevin McStay is the new Mayo football manager.
Kevin McStay is the new Mayo football manager.

Kevin McStay appointed Mayo football manager

Kevin McStay has been appointed the new Mayo senior football manager on a four-year term.

His experienced backroom team includes Stephen Rochford, Liam McHale, Donie Buckley, and Damien Mulligan.

Rochford previously managed Mayo himself while Buckley has coached Mayo in the past.

Liam McHale was a selector under McStay when he managed the Roscommon footballers to a Connacht title in 2017.

Wishing Kevin and his backroom team all the best, Mayo GAA Chairperson Seamus Tuohy said he was confident the executive and county board delegates had made the correct decision: “I want to thank all the candidates that put their name forward for the position of Mayo Senior Football manager. It was an arduous process but we are confident we have chosen the best person for the job. Kevin has a proven track record with both Roscommon and St. Brigid’s GAA club and he brings a wealth of experience to the position."

Speaking to after his ratification, Kevin McStay said it was a great honour and privilege to manage his native county. “It was always a desire of mine to return someday to manage the Mayo Senior Football team and I am very grateful to have been given this opportunity now. I am looking forward to the challenges that lie ahead and I will leave no stone unturned in my efforts to keep Mayo competitive and challenging for national honours."

Kevin won two Connacht titles and an All-Star during his playing career with his native county. He guided Roscommon club side St. Brigid’s to All-Ireland club glory in 2013 and went on to win a Connacht title as manager with the Roscommon senior team in 2017.