Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
St Michael's players Brian Harlowe and Shane Maloney.
St Michael's players Brian Harlowe and Shane Maloney.

Galway SFC: St Michael's edge out An Spidéal

Galway Senior Football Championship

St Michael’s 1-9 An Spidéal 0-10

By Cian O'Connell at Pearse Stadium

The Galway SFC Group 1 stakes were piled high so Eddie Hoare’s winning point deep into stoppage time was furiously celebrated in the west.

Former inter-county player Hoare landed the decisive score as Michael’s eventually prevailed following a competitive encounter.

Liam Brannigan added the insurance point as Michael’s secured a valuable victory to set up a crucial last pool match against Barna, who have made a hugely impressive start in Galway.

It was an opening period which illustrated Michael’s willingness to work as they restricted An Spidéal to just seven shots .

An Spidéal were efficient, though, nailing five of those opportunities, but at the opposite end of the field Michael’s pounced for a 12th minute goal.

Eoin Kerin burst through the heart of the An Spidéal defence before crashing a tonic goal which help steer the city outfit into a 1-5 to 0-5 interval advantage.

Four points on the spin after the restart from Finnian Ó Laoi, Ciaran Ó Laoi, Maghnus Breathnach, and Fionnain O’Connor edged the Connemara team in front.

From then until the finish it was a keenly contested affair with an Hoare free restoring parity in the 51st minute.

With the issue delicately poised Michael’s remained cool as Hoare and Brannigan contributed important scores in the dying stages.

Scorers for St Michael’s: Eddie Hoare 0-5 (4fs), Eoin Kerin 1-0, Liam Brannigan, Ethan Fiorentini, Cathal Meagher, and Damian Connaughton 0-1.

Scorers for An Spidéal: Finnian O Laoi 0-3 (3fs), Maghnus Breathnach 0-2 (2fs), Cormac O Laoi, Antaine O Laoi, Ciaran O Laoi, Padraig Eoin O Curraoin, and Fionnain O’Connor 0-1 each.

ST MICHAEL’S: Blaine Sheridan; Cathal Meagher, Shane Maloney, Eoin Kerin; Eoin Day, Shane Connaughton, Ethan Fiorentini; David Cunnane, Eamonn O’Donnell; Damian Connaughton, Brian Harlowe, Frank Daly; Eamonn Brannigan, Eddie Hoare, Liam Brannigan.

Subs: Plunkett Tormey for O’Donnell (29), Brian Madden for Daly (57), James Kerr for Harlowe (60+2).

AN SPIDÉAL: Maghnus Breathnach; Seamus O Droighneain, Dara Mac An Ri, Eamon Ó Conlain; Ciaran Ó Laoi, Liam Ó Ceallaigh, Conall Ó Caoimh; Diamuid Ó Droighneain, Finnian Ó Laoi; Sean Ó Curraoin, Antaine Ó Laoi, Padraig Eoin Ó Curraoin; Brian O Conghaile, Cormac Ó Laoi, Fionnain O’Connor.

Subs: Aodan Ó Curraoin for O Connor (56), Iarfhlaith Breathnach for C Ó Laoi (58), Eoin Ó Droighneain for D Ó Droighneain (60+5).

REFEREE: Martin Flaherty.