Eoin Finnerty, Mountbellew-Moylough, and Dylan McHugh, Corofin, during the Galway SFC Final at Pearse Stadium.
Eoin Finnerty, Mountbellew-Moylough, and Dylan McHugh, Corofin, during the Galway SFC Final at Pearse Stadium.

Galway SFC Final: Impressive Mountbellew-Moylough triumph

Galway SFC Final

Mountbellew-Moylough 1-12 Corofin 0-9

By Cian O'Connell at Pearse Stadium

In a demanding spell for Galway football a few decades ago Val Daly's brilliance offered hope.

A key player when Mountbellew-Moylough last hoisted the Frank Fox in 1986, Daly, with his two sons John and Michael splendid, masterminded a furiously celebrated success in Salthill.

Corofin, a dominant force on the local, provincial, and national stage for so long, simply couldn't deal with Mountbellew-Moylough's vibrant approach.

Having endured plenty of final heartbreak since 2009, Mountbellew-Moylough were primed for a battle.

Adept at drilling deliveries inside Mountbellew-Moylough raced into a 0-7 to 0-1 advantage by the 19th minute.

Patrick Kelly, Barry McHugh, and Eoin Finnerty carried a potent threat for Mountbellew-Moylough, who were causing Corofin significant bother.

John Daly and James Foley were instrumental carrying possession forward, while Michael Daly provided some subtle touches too.

Corofin terminated a 17 minute search for a score when Dylan Canney clipped a gorgeous point, but Mountbellew-Moylough eventually departed 0-8 to 0-3 ahead at the interval.

When the action recommenced McHugh converted a free before Mountbellew-Moylough planted a critical goal. Michael Daly made the hard yards enabling Eoin Finnerty, who made the Corofin net dance with a 36th minute goal.

That major steered Mountbellew-Moylough 1-9 to 0-3 in front. Inevitably Corofin, with Dylan Canney sharp, battled until the bitter end, but sufficient Mountbellew-Moylough damage had been inflicted.

Scorers for Mountbellew-Moylough: Eoin Finnerty 1-3 (1m), Barry McHugh 0-5 (2fs), John Daly, Michael Daly, Paul Donnellan, and Stephen Boyle 0-1 each.

Scorers for Corofin: Dylan Canney 0-3, Darragh Silke (1f) and Jason Leonard (1f) 0-2 each, Micheal Lundy and Ronan Steede 0-1 each.

MOUNTBELLEW-MOYLOUGH: Damien Boyle; Billy Mannion, Colin Murray, Mark Mannion; Colin Ryan, James Foley, John Daly; Michael Daly, Matthew Barrett; Shane Moran, Paul Donnellan, Gerard Donohue; Patrick Kelly, Eoin Finnerty, Barry McHugh.

Subs: Gary Sweeney for M Mannion (39), Aaron McHugh for Ryan (43), Leo Donnellan for P Donnellan (50), Stephen Boyle for Donohue (56).

COROFIN: Bernard Power; Cathal Silke, Dylan McHugh, Liam Silke; Gavin Burke, Colin Brady, Dylan Wall; Daithi Burke, Ronan Steede; Kieran Molloy, Micheal Lundy, Jason Leonard; Darragh Silke, Martin Farragher, Dylan Canney.

Subs: Tony Gill for Brady (HT), Conor Newell for Molloy (43), Ciaran McGrath for C Silke (43), Matthew Cooley for D Burke (46), Michael Farragher for Martin Farragher (46).

REFEREE: Thomas Murphy.