Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG



Allianz FL D1: Tyrone dominate Mayo

Diarmuid O Connor, Mayo, and Connor McAliskey, Tyrone, in action at Elverys MacHale Park.

Diarmuid O Connor, Mayo, and Connor McAliskey, Tyrone, in action at Elverys MacHale Park.

Allianz Football League Division 1

TYRONE 2-14 MAYO 0-8

Tyrone shaded this feisty Allianz National Football League Division 1 clash this afternoon at Elverys McHale Park this afternoon, with goals from Lee Brennan and substitute Conal McCann proving decisive against an error-prone Mayo side who looked totally bewildered in possession at times.

Both Colm Boyle and Padraig McNulty were brandished red cards by referee Maurice Deegan, with Colm Cavanagh and Andy Moran flashed black cards after an ill-disciplined first half performance by both sides in front of an attendance of 10,013.

However, with the breeze at their backs in the first half, Tyrone eased into a comfortable five-point cushion at the break, with Matthew Donnelly and Lee Brennan proving instrumental.

Tom Parsons kicked an early point for Mayo, but that was good as it got for Stephen Rochford’s team with a brace of frees from substitute Conor Loftus the sole response for Mayo coming in stoppage time.

To compound their misery they lost both Lee Keegan and Cillian O’Connor to serious looking injuries, with Tyrone corner back Hugh Pat McGeary being stretched off after shipping a heavy challenge from Colm Boyle.

Tyrone were composed in possession and they utilised the elements to good effect as they landed seven points without reply with Matthew Donnelly kicking three points along with excellent efforts from Frank Burns, Niall Sludden and Conor McAliskey also chipping in with vital scores.

Mayo meanwhile repeatedly turned over the ball in possession, and never got motoring all afternoon. When Lee Brennan fired home a superb 39th minute goal after selling a delightful dummy, it stretched Tyrone’s lead to seven points and they were full value for that lead.

Tyrone continued to pile on the scores with Declan McClure, Conor McAliskey, Conor Meyler and Matthew Donnelly all firing over singles to give them an unassailable lead. Substitutes Fergal Boland and Neil Douglas kicked some consolation scores, but Tyrone were still full of running and an exceptional goal from Conal McCann in the 69th minute wrapped up a supreme performance, where in truth the Ulster side never looked in trouble as they coasted home to their third win of the campaign.

Mayo meanwhile face a relegation dogfight against Donegal next weekend in a winner takes all clash in Ballybofey, in what will sure to be a spicy affair against Declan Bonner’s troops.

Scorers for Tyrone: Lee Brennan 1-3, (2f), Matthew Donnelly 0-4, Conor McAliskey 0-3, (3f), Conal McCann 1-0, Frank Burns 0-1, Niall Sludden 0-1, Declan McClure 0-1, Conor Meyler 0-1.

Scorers for Mayo: Conor Loftus 0-5 (4f), Tom Parsons 0-1, Neil Douglas 0-1, Fergal Boland 0-1

**TYRONE: **Mickey O’Neill; Hugh Pat McGeary, Pádraig Hampsey, Cathal McCarron; Conor Meyler, Frank Burns, Peter Harte; Colm Cavanagh, Padraig McNulty; Matthew Donnelly, Niall Sludden, Cathal McShane; Lee Brennan, Conor McAliskey, Mark Bradley. Subs: Michael McKernan for H Pat McGeary (20, inj), Declan McClure for C Cavanagh (27, b/c), Kieran McGeary for N Sludden (39), David Mulgrew for M Bradley (51), Conal McCann for C McAliskey (55), Rory Brennan for C McCarron (67).

**MAYO: **David Clarke; Caolan Crowe, Ger Cafferkey, Eoin O’Donoghue; Colm Boyle, Lee Keegan, Stephen Coen; Aidan O’Shea, Tom Parsons; Diarmuid O’Connor, Jason Doherty, Adam Gallagher; Kevin McLoughlin, Andy Moran, Cillian O’Connor. **Subs: **Conor Loftus for C O’Connor (11, inj), Paddy Durcan for L Keegan (34, inj), Seamus O’Shea for A Moran (40 b/c), Fergal Boland for J Doherty (55), Neil Douglas for D O’Connor (55), Conor O’Shea for A O’Shea (60 mins).

Ref: Maurice Deegan (Laois)