Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Niall Morgan kicks a point for Tyrone against Roscommon at Dr Hyde Park.
Niall Morgan kicks a point for Tyrone against Roscommon at Dr Hyde Park.

Allianz FL D1: Spoils shared at Dr Hyde Park

Allianz Football League Division One


By Daragh Small at Dr Hyde Park

Goalkeeper Niall Morgan was the hero as Tyrone came back to secure their first draw in Division 1 of the Allianz Football League against Roscommon.

The hosts had the breeze at their backs in the opening half and they excelled in the second quarter to take a 0-10 to 0-4 lead into the interval.

But Tyrone fought back after half-time. Ultan Harney’s goal was all Roscommon scored in that second half.

Cathal McShane fisted the Tyrone goal and Matthew Donnelly was black carded following Morgan’s leveller.

Tyrone had the early possession and territory but the combination of their build up and Roscommon’s stingy defence meant scores were kept to a premium.

Matthew Donnelly was fouled in the third minute and Peter Harte slotted the resultant free, but that was cancelled out by a huge Conor Daly effort.

The exciting Conor Cox opened his account eight minutes in, and he struck another fabulous point on the turn off his left boot after Harte scored his second.

Donie Smith was back from suspension and almost found the net in the 20th minute. Ultan Harney’s high ball was tapped down by Shane Killoran and Smith’s shot, low to Niall Morgan’s left, bounced back off the post.

Ronan McNamee had drawn the sides level for the third time but Killoran got forward to build the momentum for the home side.

Roscommon continued to push, and after Cathal McShane shot wide when he was through one-on-one with Darren O’Malley, Killoran put Roscommon back in front.

Cox and then Killoran fired over and Roscommon had a double-scores, 0-6 to 0-3, lead by the 26th minute.

Tyrone were too one dimensional and their high balls towards McShane failed to reap dividends. Down the other end Ultan Harney’s point extended Roscommon’s advantage.

Roscommon were rampant and they had hit seven-in-a-row before Harte finally replied in the 37th minute.

Donie Smith, Niall Kilroy and Ronan Daly continued the onslaught but Harte’s free reduced the arrears to 0-10 to 0-4 at half-time.

Tyrone had to score first in the second half and Harte provided his fourth and fifth frees, but Roscommon were back in control in the 43rd minute.

Harney’s first shot was saved well by Morgan but Cox held the ball up well and delivered it back into the danger zone, Harney rose highest to fist the ball to the net.

It was desperation time for Tyrone, but Morgan scored a long range free and then their goal arrived.

Kyle Coney’s long ball as finished to the Roscommon net by McShane. Tyrone only trailed by 1-10 to 1-7 with 20 minutes remaining.

The wind was an even bigger factor now and Roscommon couldn’t create a chance. Tyrone ate into the lead with Darren McCurry’s score and that was down to just one when Morgan scored his second long-range free.

Morgan shot the equaliser from over 50 metres out in the 67th minute before Donnelly was shown a black card for an off-the-ball incident.

Scorers for Roscommon: Ultan Harney 1-1, Conor Cox 0-3, Shane Killoran 0-2, Ronan Daly 0-1, Niall Kilroy 0-1, Donie Smith 0-1, Conor Daly 0-1

Scorers for Tyrone: Peter Harte 0-5 (5fs), Cathal McShane 1-0, Niall Morgan 0-3 (2fs), Ronan McNamee 0-1, Darren McCurry 0-1

ROSCOMMON: Darren O’Malley; David Murray, Evan McGrath, Conor Daly; Conor Devaney, Conor Hussey, Ronan Daly; Tadgh O’Rourke, Enda Smith; Shane Killoran, Ultan Harney, Niall Kilroy; Conor Cox, Donie Smith, Cathal Cregg.

Subs: Colin Compton for Cregg (53), Gary Patterson for Kilroy (56), Hubert Darcy for O’Rourke (63), Aengus Lyons for Cox (69).

TYRONE: Niall Morgan; Michael McKernan, Ronan McNamee, Ciaran McLaughlin; Tiernan McCann, Rory Brennan, Padraig Hampsey; Brian Kennedy, Ben McDonnell; Matthew Donnelly, Niall Sludden, Peter Harte; Darren McCurry, Cathal McShane, Kieran McGeary.

Subs: Conor Meyler for McLaughlin (27), Hugh Pat McGeary for R McNamee (31), Kyle Coney for Sludden (40), Harry Loughran for McDonnell (50), Frank Burns for Brennan (59).

REFEREE: Noel Mooney (Cavan).

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship