Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG


Preview: Weekend's provincial hurling championship action

Tipperary manager Liam Cahill and Cork boss Pat Ryan following last year's Munster SHC clash. Photo by David Fitzgerald/Sportsfile

Tipperary manager Liam Cahill and Cork boss Pat Ryan following last year's Munster SHC clash. Photo by David Fitzgerald/Sportsfile

Leinster Senior Hurling Championship

Saturday May 18

Antrim v Galway, Corrigan Park, 2pm

Either side of the splendid home win over Wexford, Antrim have suffered heavy away defeats to Kilkenny and Dublin.

So, Darren Gleeson's team will be especially eager to produce another gritty display at Corrigan Park.

It will be Galway's first game since the bitterly disappointing loss against Wexford.

That was a severe setback for Galway, who had fought back to draw with Kilkenny a week previously.

James McNaughton and Eoghan Campbell were prominent for Armagh in Parnell Park.

Galway know that significant improvement is necessary and will be looking to Conor Cooney and Conor Whelan for inspiration.

Antrim: Ryan Elliott; Conor Boyd, Niall O'Connor, Paddy Burke; Gerard Walsh, Ryan McGarry, Conal Bohill; Eoghan Campbell, Keelan Molloy; Nigel Elliott, Michael Bradley, Niall McKenna; Conal Cunning, Seaan Elliott, James McNaughton.

Subs: Cormac McFadden, Rory McCloskey, Phelim Duffin, Scott Walsh, Paul Boyle, Fred McCurry, Seán McKay, Conor McCann, Joseph McLaughlin, Rian McMullan, Aodhan O'Brien.

Galway: Darach Fahy; Jack Grealish, Daithi Burke, Fintan Burke; Seán Linnane, Padraic Mannion, Cianan Fahy; David Burke, Ronan Glennon; Gavin Lee, Tom Monaghan, Joseph Cooney; Conor Whelan, Conor Cooney, Evan Niland.

Subs: Eanna Murphy, Eoin Lawless, Adrian Tuohey, Shane Cooney, Gearóid McInerney, Donal O'Shea, Tiernan Killeen, Jonathan Glynn, Jamie Ryan, Jason Flynn, Declan McLoughlin.

Dublin v Kilkenny, Parnell Park, 6pm

It has been a hugely encouraging stint for Dublin, who have collected five points from a possible six with a youthful panel.

Micheál Donoghue's team, though, know critical fixture loom against Kilkenny and Galway in the remaining rounds.

Conor Burke and Donal Burke starred in the emphatic success over Antrim at Parnell Park last weekend.

That was the latest satisfactory result for Dublin, but Kilkenny encountered difficulties against Carlow at Netwatch Cullen Park.

Carlow finished strongly to secure a draw so Derek Lyng will be demanding a response in the capital.

Owen Wall, Martin Keoghan, and Cian Kenny all enjoyed productive moments in the Carlow game for Kilkenny.

Dublin: Seán Brennan; John Bellew, Eoghan O'Donnell, Paddy Smyth; Chris Crummey, Conor Donohoe, Paddy Doyle; Brian Hayes, Conor Burke; Danny Sutcliffe, Donal Burke, Seán Currie; Fergal Whiteley, Cian O'Sullivan, Ronan Hayes.

Subs: Eddie Gibbons, James Madden, Daire Gray, Seán Gallagher, Darragh Power, Mark Grogan, Dara Purcell, Colin Currie, Paul Crummey, Jake Malone, Liam Murphy.

Kilkenny: Eoin Murphy; Mikey Butler, Huw Lawlor, Tommy Walsh; David Blanchfield, Paddy Deegan, Shane Murphy; Cian Kenny, Mikey Carey; John Donnelly, Eoin Cody, Tom Phelan; Martin Keoghan, TJ Reid, Owen Wall.

Subs: Aidan Tallis, Darragh Corcoran, Cillian Buckley, Conor Delaney, David Fogarty, Conor Fogarty, Timmy Clifford, Luke Hogan, Billy Ryan, Billy Drennan, Liam Blanchfield.

Sunday May 19

Carlow v Wexford, Netwatch Cullen Park, 3pm

Marty Kavanagh's last gasp free ensured Carlow claimed a morale boosting draw against Kilkenny at Netwatch Cullen.

Another neighbourly clash is on the agenda for Carlow, who now face Wexford.

It has been a remarkable campaign for Wexford, who drew with Dublin, lost to Antrim, before summoning a defiant display to beat Galway.

Rory O'Connor and Lee Chin were in brilliant form during that Galway triumph for Wexford, who will want to deliver a similarly vibrant performance.

Kevin McDonald and Chris Nolan remain influential figures for an improving Carlow outfit.

Carlow: Brian Tracey; Paul Doyle, Dion Wall, Niall Bolger; Tony Lawlor, Kevin McDonald, Fiachra Fitzpatrick; Jack Kavanagh, Richard Coady; John Michael Nolan, Ciarán Whelan, Conor Kehoe; Chris Nolan, Marty Kavanagh, James Doyle.

Subs: Ciarán Abbey, Conor Lawlor, Jack McCullagh, Jake Doyle, Evan Kealy, Scott Treacy, Paddy Boland, John Doyle, Fiach O'Toole, Paidi O'Shea, Donagh Murphy.

Wexford: Mark Fanning; Shane Reck, Conor Foley, Eoin Ryan; Liam Ryan, Damien Reck, Matthew O'Hanlon; Conor Hearne, Simon Donohoe; Richie Lawlor, Lee Chin, Liam Óg McGovern; Cathal Dunbar, Conor McDonald, Rory O'Connor.

Subs: Aaron Duggan, Séamus Casey, Mikie Dwyer, Kevin Foley, Conor Devitt, Niall Murphy, Darragh Carley, Tomás Kinsella, Charlie McGuckin, Paudie Casey, James Byrne.

Munster Senior Hurling Championship

Sunday May 19

Clare v Waterford, Cusack Park, 2pm, RTE

A lively Munster SHC continues on Sunday with Clare hosting Waterford in Ennis.

Clare's last match at the venue ended in disappointment when Limerick stormed back to register a win.

The following week Brian Lohan's Clare prevailed against Cork with Aidan McCarthy, Mark Rodgers, and Shane O'Donnell prominent.

Waterford have collected three points from two matches at Walsh Park with Calum Lyons, Stephen Bennett, and Dessie Hutchinson effective.

Davy Fitzgerald, who had plenty of successful days with Clare, returns to Cusack Park, adding another sub plot.

Clare: Eibhear Quilligan; Adam Hogan, Conor Cleary, Rory Hayes; Diarmuid Ryan, John Conlon, David McInerney; David Fitzgerald, Darragh Lohan; Cathal Malone, Mark Rodgers, Peter Duggan; Aidan McCarthy, Shane O'Donnell, David Reidy.

Subs: Cian Broderick, Conor Leen, Paul Flanagan, Séadna Morey, Cian Galvin, Paddy Donnellan, Ian Galvin, Aron Shanagher, Shane Meehan, Robin Mounsey, Tony Kelly.

Waterford: Shaun O'Brien; Kieran Bennett, Mark Fitzgerald, Iarlaith Daly; Jack Fagan, Tadhg de Búrca, Calum Lyons; Darragh Lyons, Jamie Barron; Jack Prendergast, Neil Montgomery, Michael Kiely; Dessie Hutchinson, Stephen Bennett, Kevin Mahony.

Subs: Billy Nolan, Ian Kenny, Conor Ryan, Mairtín Power, Patrick Curran, Patrick Fitzgerald, Shane Bennett, Peter Hogan, Padraig Fitzgerald, Paddy Leavey, Tom Barron.

Tipperary v Cork, FBD Semple Stadium, 4pm, RTE

The manner of Cork's victory over Limerick at SuperValu Páirc Uí Chaoimh ensures Pat Ryan's charges head for Thurles heartened.

Throughout the decades Cork teams have relished operating at FBD Semple Stadium, and this is a vital encounter for both counties.

Rob Downey, Darragh Fitzgibbon, Séamus Harnedy, Shane Barrett, and Patrick Horgan all excelled in Cork's breathless success over Limerick.

Liam Cahill, though, will have Tipperary primed for a battle and they were gritty when drawing with Waterford.

Mark Kehoe and Jake Morris contributed handsomely in that match, while Seánie Kenneally impressed following his introduction also.

Tipperary: Barry Hogan; Cathal Barrett, Ronan Maher, Craig Morgan; Michael Breen, Bryan O'Mara, Conor Bowe; Alan Tynan, Eoghan Connolly; Gearóid O'Connor, Jason Forde, Noel McGrath; Jake Morris, Mark Kehoe, Darragh Stakelum.

Subs: Rhys Shelly, Paddy Cadell, Willie Connors, Seán Hayes, Seánie Kenneally, Patrick Maher, Dan McCormack, John McGrath, Andrew Ormond, Johnny Ryan, Conor Stakelum.

Cork: Patrick Collins; Niall O'Leary, Eoin Downey, Seán O'Donoghue; Tim O'Mahony, Robert Downey, Mark Coleman; Ethan Twomey, Darragh Fitzgibbon; Declan Dalton, Shane Barrett, Séamus Harnedy; Patrick Horgan, Alan Connolly, Brian Hayes.

Subs: Brion Saunderson, Eoin Roche, Ger Mellerick, Tommy O'Connell, Ciarán Joyce, Luke Meade, Conor Cahalane, Shane Kingston, Jack O'Connor, Conor Lehane, Seán Twomey.