Motion One was passed at GAA Special Congress at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.
Motion One was passed at GAA Special Congress at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Two tier Football Championship format to be introduced

By Cian O'Connell

A two tier format will be used in the All Ireland Senior Football Championship in 2020.

During Saturday's GAA Special Congress at Páirc Uí Chaoimh 75.5% of delegates voted in favour of Motion One which proposed that the All Ireland SFC adopt a two tier structure after the provincial championships which will be played as currently.

At the outset it was agreed to vote on Motion Two regarding what counties will play in Tier 2 in any given year.

Tipperary's proposal that Division Three and Four counties be determined after the 2020 Allianz League passed with an 87.5% majority.

Then the discussion switched to Motion One with John Murphy and Tom Farrell from Cosite Bainisti, and former Presidents Sean Kelly and Nickey Brennan backing the proposal.

A lively debate ensued with Martin Coleman (Wicklow), Terence Boyle (Leitrim), Denis Holmes (Limerick), Pat Toner (Louth) speaking in favour, and Ciaran McCavana (Antrim), Jack Devanney (Down), Sean Campion (Carlow), Tom Boyle (Fermanagh) against the proposal.

Delegates voted and the motion was carried ensuring that a new Championship format will be in operation next summer.

Motion Three proposing the introduction of an advanced mark was supported by 68.9% with 31.1% against.

Another motion proposing the introduction of a 10 minute sin bin for a player who commits a black card offence had 73.8% votes in favour.

The final motion proposing that goalkeepers must take their kick-out from the 20 metre line received 83.1% of the vote.