The Celtic Challenge

The Celtic Challenge was established in 2016 and is the only competition in Hurling that has teams from all 32 counties participating. The ethos is a developmental one with teams initially competing at group stages. Depending then on results teams are graded for the knockout stages giving all an opportunity to compete at their own level. The inclusion of second and even third teams from Tier 1 counties has proven very successful as it can result in teams from for example, Nickey Rackard counties playing teams from Liam Mac Carthy counties in a final. These are opportunities that players otherwise would not experience.

After having a scaled down version of Celtic Challenge for 2021 we are delighted to have 39 teams from 29 counties take part.

Clare, Waterford, Tipperary, Wexford Purple, Cork West, Cork East, Dublin Clarke and Galway will compete for Corn Michael Hogan

Limerick Treaty, Limerick Sarsfields, Cork North, Cork City, Wexford Gold, Dublin Plunkett and Kilkenny Black will compete for the Corn John Scott.

Laois, Kildare, Offaly, Meath, Roscommon, Westmeath, Wicklow Blue and Antrim will compete for Corn William Robinson & Corn Jerome O'Leary

Kildare Cadets, Armagh, Mayo, Longford, Sligo, Leitrim, Meath Royals and Carlow will compete for Corn Michael Feery.

Wicklow Yellow, Louth, Tyrone, Fermanagh, Cavan, Donegal, Monaghan and Kildare Lilywhites will compete for Corn Tom Hogan

The competition started on Saturday 9th April and we are now preparing for the quarter finals on Saturday 7th May.

Winners will then advance to their respective semi-finals on Saturday 14th May.

Semi-final winners will play their finals on Saturday 4th June.