Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Paddy Buggy Cup Final.

Paddy Buggy Cup Final.

Masita Post Primary weekend round-up

By Damian Lawlor

In Inniskeen, Co. Monaghan, Coláiste Choilm had a 0-17 to 0-13 extra-time victory over St. Patrick's, Maghera to be crowned All-Ireland senior 'B' hurling champions for the first time in their history.

Maghera led by 0-7 to 0-3 in the first half, but two late points from Brian Duignan - son of Offaly’s two time All Ireland champion, Michael, ensured extra-time for the Offaly school.

The Tullamore men had a two-point lead at the end of the first period of extra-time, and a crucial Billy Fogarty point late in the second period confirmed a fine four-point win.

Coláiste Mhuire, Mullingar are also celebrating this week after their McGirr Cup win ( 1-12 to 0-13 All-Ireland junior 'A' football final) over the famed Kerry football nursery St. Brendan's College, Killarney.

They beat the Kerry nursery in Bansha, Co. Tipperary in a tight affair. Shane Williams' first half goal proved crucial as the Westmeath school went on to carve out a brilliant win.

Once again Man of the match Charlie Drumm was to the fore, Conor Gibney also played a key role for the new champions.

This is is Mullingar’s finest colleges’ football achievement since St Mary’s CBS, Mullingar claimed the Leinster Colleges’ SFC this week 35 years ago.

Now known as Coláiste Mhuire the school has captured an All-Ireland Colleges’ JFC ‘A’ title and a McGirr Cup title.

Captained by Trevor Keena and Enda Gaffney and managed jointly by Brian Murtagh, Sarah Guilfoyle and Mattie Dempsey, the Mullingar side will look back with pride on how they held on in the second half.

St Brendan’s team were favourites to take this junior cycle All-Ireland title. The school – which has produced Kerry icons like Colm ‘Gooch’ Cooper, Seamus Moynihan, Páidí Ó Sé and Pat Spillane – has won the Hogan Cup (the All-Ireland Colleges’ SFC title) for the last two years.

Ardee Community School created history in Newbridge on Saturday afternoon as they were crowned All-Ireland Schools 'C' Championship winners in comfortable fashion, beating St. Declan's CS from Waterford 1-9 to 0-3 at Newbridge.

It was undoubtedly the Jonathan Commins show - he hit 0-6 in total, while Carl Gillespie, younger brother of captain Conor, hit a second-half goal to put the result beyond doubt.

The Waterford side enjoyed a tremendous campaign, but in this final the Ardee team were never really troubled.

The Louth boys were clinical, efficient and superior throughout. They were four points to the good at the break and were well in command.

This win came four years after an Ardee CS team, including Louth dynamo Ryan Burns, fell to All-Ireland 'C' final defeat in Portlaoise, there was to be no such trouble this time.

Commins hit Ardee's first four scores and Donal Quelly's early equaliser was as close as the opponents from Waterford came to laying a glove on the champions-elect.

Conor Gillespie scored undoubtedly the point of the half to wind down the scoring before the break.

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions