Noel Mooney refereed the Allianz Football League Division Three final between Clare and Kildare.

Noel Mooney refereed the Allianz Football League Division Three final between Clare and Kildare.

GAA confirms Championship Referees' Panels

The GAA has confirmed its panels of referees for the 2016 Championship in Hurling and Gaelic Football.

Two new referees have been included on the Championship panel - Kilkenny's Sean Cleere (Hurling) and Cavan's Noel Mooney (Gaelic Football).

All of the officials will attend a pre-Championship seminar and fitness examination in the coming days.

The Linesman panel is a newly created panel, and in hurling this panel will also be appointed to referee games in the Christy Ring Cup.

National Referees Development Chairman Sean Walsh is encouraged by how officials operated throughout the Allianz Leagues.  "It is a great honour for the referees to be in this Championship panel," Walsh told

"All of the officials have to follow stringent guidelines with fitness and rules so all those involved have worked extremely hard.

"Our games have a high profile, and I think with the Leagues and Championship in the one calendar year referees have to be at their best.

"Every League game carries significance now and the panel reflects what has happened during the spring and in the year so far."

Walsh also welcomed Cleere and Mooney to the panel.  "We would like to congratulate them on making the panel, they are here on merit."

Five referees on the hurling panel have refereed All-Ireland finals in the past – Barry Kelly (4), Brian Gavin (3), Diarmuid Kirwan (2), James McGrath (2), and James Owens.

Five members of the Gaelic Football panel have refereed All-Ireland finals previously– David Coldrick (3), Joe McQuillan (2), Maurice Deegan (2), Marty Duffy, and Eddie Kinsella.

The Referee and Linesman Panels for the upcoming Championship have been finalised by Coiste Forbartha na Réiteoirí as follows:

Hurling - Championship panel of 12:

Sean Cleere (Cill Chainnigh)

Brian Gavin (Uíbh Fhailí)

Fergal Horgan (Tiobraid Árann)

John Keenan (Cill Mhantáin)

Alan Kelly (Gaillimh)

Barry Kelly (An Iarmhí)

Diarmuid Kirwan (Corcaigh)

Colm Lyons (Corcaigh)

James McGrath (An Iarmhí)

Paud O'Dwyer (Ceatharlach)

James Owens (Loch Garman)

Johnny Ryan (Tiobraid Árann)

Hurling - Christy Ring and Linesman Panel of 6:

Colum Cunning (Aontroim)

David Hughes (Ceatharlach)

John Keane (Gaillimh)

Cathal McAllister (Corcaigh)

Gearoid McGrath (Loch Garman)

John O'Brien (Tiobraid Árann)

Football - Championship Panel of 18:

Ciaran Branagan (An Dún)

Barry Cassidy (Doire)

David Coldrick (An Mhí)

Maurice Deegan (Laois)

Marty Duffy (Sligeach)

David Gough (An Mhí)

Rory Hickey (An Clár)

Padraig Hughes (Ard Mhacha)

Sean Hurson (Tír Eoghan)

Fergal Kelly (An Longfort)

Eddie Kinsella (Laois)

Conor Lane (Corcaigh)

Joe McQuillan (An Cabhán)

Noel Mooney (An Cabhán)

Paddy Neilan (Ros Comáin)

Anthony Nolan (Cill Mhantáin)

Derek O'Mahony (Tiobraid Árann)

Padraig O'Sullivan (Ciarraí)

Football - Championship Linesman Panel of 8:

James Bermingham (Corcaigh)

Niall Cullen (Fear Manach)

Liam Devenney (Maigh Eo)

Jerome Henry (Maigh Eo)

John Hickey (Ceatharlach)

Shaun McLaughlin (Dún na nGall)

Martin McNally (Muineachán)

Cormac Reilly (An Mhí)