Applications for MacNamee awards are now being accepted.
Applications for MacNamee awards are now being accepted.

Applications for 2021 and 2022 MacNamee Awards now being accepted

The GAA MacNamee Awards are held annually to honour excellence in the area of communications, public relations and journalism, specifically related to the activities of the Association. These awards are named after the late Pádraig MacNamee, former President of the GAA, Chairman of the GAA Commission (1969-1971) and member of RTÉ authority.

Applications for the 2021 and 2022 MacNamee Awards are now being accepted. It should be noted that only work published or completed in the 2021 and 2022 calendar years is eligible for consideration and entries will not be returned. The awards scheme will be judged under the following headings:

• Best Digital Impact Award

Award for a club or county’s use of existing digital channels, own creative content or cutting-edge innovations (video, streaming,

podcasts, newsletter, archives, other) to present a story or activity online.

Entries should

- Illustrate the Who, What, Where, When and Why of entry

- Illustrate innovation or use of new technologies, where relevant

- Examples of content created for the campaign

- Examples of engagement with online community

- Illustration of results achieved and future development/use.

• Best GAA Publication

To cover general works focussing on the Association.

• Best GAA Club Publication

To cover GAA County Yearbooks and Club Histories.

• Best Photograph

Focussing on the best GAA-themed image.

• Best Programme

To cater for all match day programmes produced for any level of the GAA.

• Best GAA related Radio Programme

To cater for all GAA programming broadcast either nationally or locally.

• Provincial Media Award

To acknowledge high quality written journalism in a provincial publication.

• National Media Award

To acknowledge high quality written journalism in national daily or Sunday publication.

• Best TV Documentary

To acknowledge the high quality of TV documentaries currently produced on the GAA.

• Irish Language Award / Gradam na Gaeilge

To recognise excellence in the field of Irish language GAA journalism across all media/Aitheantas ar ardchaighdeán iriseoireachta Gaeilge bainteach le cúrsaí CLG, ina chuimsítear gach cineál meán cumarsáide.

* Please note: There is a limit of three photographs per entrant for the photographic award and one entry (jpeg forma) for all other categories.

A Hall of Fame Award / Outstanding Service Award will also be made in recognition of a prolonged personal involvement in the coverage of GAA activities to the highest standards.

All entries should be marked “GAA MacNamee Awards 2021 or 2022” and addressed for the attention of Alan Milton, Director of Communications, Croke Park, Dublin 3 or emailed to . Entrants should also clearly state what category they are submitting their entry under.

Award winners will be contacted in due course with further details in relation to the awards presentations.

Closing date for entries is Friday October 21, 2022. For further information please contact