Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
The Electric Ireland HE GAA Rising Star Hurling Team of the Year 2019.
The Electric Ireland HE GAA Rising Star Hurling Team of the Year 2019.

2019 Electric Ireland HE GAA Rising Stars

Higher Education GAA has announced the names of exciting young talents in Gaelic Games who make up the Electric Ireland HE GAA Rising Stars in football and hurling for 2019.

These awards acknowledge outstanding performances in the battle for the third level football and hurling championships and come at the end of what was another epic season of third level GAA action.

UCC as the champions of both the Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon Cup and Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup were truly a class apart in 2019 and they dominate the final 15 in both codes with no fewer than fourteen young heroes chosen across the two star-studded selections.

Despite this there are five colleges represented on each panel with established inter county senior players such as Aaron Gillane and Sean O’Shea shining alongside up-and-comers James Bergin and Jarlath Óg Burns.

The Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon Cup produced some thrilling games with only a single score separating the semi-finalists. UCC were worthy champions and contributed eight star players with Mary Immaculate College (3), DCU DE (2), NUI Galway (1) and GMIT (1) claiming the rest of the spoils.

The battle for the Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup was also a close fought affair and again there are five third level institutions contributing star players with UCC again being the dominant presence with six star players after a stellar final performance against a well drilled and determined St Mary’s University College who have four star players listed. NUI Galway (2), UCD (2) and LYIT (1) also feature on the football panel.

Also named this year were the Electric Ireland Hurler of the Year, Shane Conway from UCC and the Electric Ireland Footballer of the Year, Sean O’Shea also from UCC.

After an extremely successful year for 3rd Level GAA and with the ever-increasing standard, these Electric Ireland HE GAA Rising Stars are truly the heroes of tomorrow.

Congratulating the winners, Uachtarán John Horan said: “Over the last number of years it has become a real statement of intent from young players involved at third level football and hurling championships that the form they show here is a sign of things to come at inter-county level.

“Indeed, many of those chosen here have already embarked on senior inter-county careers and are making headlines. I’ve no doubt more of these names will follow them in the years to come.

“We are delighted that our third-level institutions, which are rated so highly all over the world for the calibre of young people they help to mould, are so committed to the promotion and playing of our Games and we appreciate that support.

“The Higher Education competitions are of the highest quality and these awards carry a major standing as a result.

“Our thanks to Electric Ireland for their support and we look forward to watching these young heroes continue to develop their talents at club and county level.”

John Dwane, Manager Customer Operations, Electric Ireland said “We in Electric Ireland have been delighted once again support this prestigious championships for another year. For those involved in sport at third level, representing their college is special and it is the Higher Education Leagues and Championships that provide this sporting opportunity.

Electric Ireland wished to bring to the fore through the First Class Rivals campaign, the unique aspect of the Championships which sees rivals at County level, coming together in College with one goal – to win the highly coveted Fitzgibbon or Sigerson trophies. Through our campaign we sought to raise the profile of these wonderful competitions, celebrate the meaning and the emotion attached to the games.

The Electric Ireland HE GAA Rising Star Awards offer a fantastic opportunity to recognise exceptionally talented players across the country for their enviable dedication to their sport but also to their third level institution.

Electric Ireland wishes to congratulate not only the Hurling and Football Teams of the Year but also the 7,000 students who took part in the Championships, making it a huge success and a thrill to follow.”

Sean O'Shea was outstanding throughout the Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup for UCC.
Sean O'Shea was outstanding throughout the Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup for UCC.

Electric Ireland HE GAA Rising Stars 2019


1 Mark Reid (St Mary's)

2 Brian O'Beaglaoich (UCC)

3 Kevin McDonnell (NUIG)

4 Graham O'Sullivan (UCC)

5 Cian Kiely (UCC)

6 Daniel O'Brien (UCC)

7 Cillian O'Shea (UCD)

8 Jarlath Og Burns (St Mary's)

9 Padraig Lucey (UCC)

10 Michael Langan (LYIT)

11 Sean O'Shea (UCC)

12 Peter Cooke (NUIG)

13 Stephen McConville (St Mary's)

14 Evan O'Carroll (UCD)

15 Shane McGuigan (St Mary's)

Footballer of the Year: Sean O'Shea (UCC)

Electric Ireland HE GAA Rising Stars 2019


1 Eoghan Cahill (Mary Immaculate)

2 Niall O'Leary (UCC)

3 Eddie Gunning (UCC)

4 Thomas Grimes (Mary Immaculate)

5 Chris O'Leary (UCC)

6 Paddy O'Loughlin (UCC)

7 Chris Crummey (DCU)

8 Conor Browne (UCC)

9 Jarlath Mannion (GMIT)

10 Shane Kingston (UCC)

11 Aaron Gillane (Mary Immaculate)

12 James Bergin (DCU)

13 Evan Niland (NUIG)

14 Shane Conway (UCC)

15 Mark Kehoe (UCC)

Hurler of the Year: Shane Conway (UCC)

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions