Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG


The Australasian association is the governing body for Gaelic Games in Australia & New Zealand (Australasia). It is comprised of a President, 8 Vice Presidents, who are representative of 8 affiliated State associations, Secretary, Treasurer and PRO. Gaelic Football and Hurling have been played across Australia and New Zealand for many decades by Irish immigrants keen to maintain a connection with the national sport of their youth. Today men, women, boys and girls from all backgrounds play Gaelic games. Both Ladies Football and Camogie are experiencing particularly strong growth. The GFHAA is recognised by the Australian Sports Commission as the National Sporting Organisation (NSO) thereby being the pre--eminent body for Gaelic Games in the region. To safeguard the continued development of Gaelic Games, a strong focus is in place throughout Australia & New Zealand on Youth Development. 2023 sees the first Feile tournament in Australia being held in Adelaide.

Founded: 1974


Club Numbers: 52

Major Tournaments: Australasian State Championships, Australasian Regional Games, Queensland League & Championships, Victoria League & Championships, New South Wales League & Championships, South Australia League & Championships, Western Australia League & Championships plus leagues in Tasmania, Wellington & Christchurch.

Unit Executive

President - Ned Sheehy - chairperson.australasia@gaa.ie

Secretary - Gerard Roe - secretary.australasia@gaa.ie

Treasurer - Fiona Cotter - treasruer.australasia@gaa.ie