Coláiste Naomh Cormac earned All-Ireland Senior B Hurling glory.
Coláiste Naomh Cormac earned All-Ireland Senior B Hurling glory.

Screeney inspires Coláiste Naomh Cormac

Masita All-Ireland Schools Senior B Hurling Paddy Buggy Cup Final

Coláiste Naomh Cormac 2-17 Hamilton High School Bandon 0-14

By Tom Clancy at Fitzgerald Park, Kilmallock

Coláiste Naomh Cormac secured All-Ireland honours, thanks to a 10-point victory over Munster champions, Hamilton High School, Bandon of Cork.

The Paddy Buggy Cup played at Kilmallock in Limerick saw a superb Adam Screeney display help the Offaly school to glory. His goals, one in either half, as well as a staggering 14 white flags, were crucial.

That said, it was a strong, well-disciplined defensive showing from the Kilcormac School that never allowed the Cork side back into the clash.

Playing, wind-assisted, the Leinster champions raced into a five point lead by the fifth minute. Screeney landed one form play, before intercepting the resultant puck-out, and burying low to the net. A point from Alex Kavanagh put them in a superb position early on.

The ‘Hammies’ replied, with a point from Darragh McCarthy, but they were struggling to deal with the wind in their faces. There was a run of seven points to just one, with Screeney hitting six, while the tireless Daniel Hand also chipped in.

The Cork boys didn’t lie down and closed the half with Evan O’Shea (free and 65) as well as Conor O’Sullivan raising white flags. They margin was eight at half-time, 1-10 to 0-5, with Screeney getting 1-8.

There was little change by the three-quarter mark, as the sides traded a trio of points – Niall Kelly with the only one from play.

The result was put beyond all doubt, when a second green flag came from the Kilcormac outfit. Screeney raced onto a pass, and after soloing into space, rifled to the net.

There was some consolation scores for Bandon, but they couldn’t get close enough. Late scores from Ronan Crowley, O’Shea and Sean McEntee weren’t enough to set up a grandstand finish.

The Paddy Buggy Cup was then presented to captain Alex Kavanagh.

Scorers for Coláiste Naomh Cormac: Adam Screeney 2-13 (10fs), Daniel Hand and Alex Kavanagh 0-2 each.
Scorers for Hamilton High School Bandon: **Evan O’Shea 0-7 (4 frees, 1 ‘65’); Eoin Guinane 0-2; Darragh McCarthy, Conor O’Sullivan, Ronan Crowley, Michéal Maguire, Sean McEntee 0-1 each.

Coláiste Naomh Cormac: (Kilcormac-Killoughey unless stated) Cillian Spain (Drumcullen); Luke Bracken, James Mahon, Mark Mulrooney; Richard Bracken, Brecon Kavanagh, Oisin Guinan; Colin Spain, Harry Sweeney; Daniel Hand, Leigh Kavanagh, Ciaran Scully; James Hennessey, Alex Kavanagh, Adam Screeney.

Subs: Dillon Hollywood for Hennessey (Drumcullen) (52), Stephen Gleeson for Scully (63).

Hamilton Highschool Bandon: Aaron White (Valley Rovers); Fionn Ustianowski (Kilbrittain); Charlie O’Sullivan (Valley Rovers), Jack Cullinane (Bandon); Kevin Dart-O’Flynn (Valley Rovers), Cian Johnson (Valley Rovers), Jonathan O’Leary (Valley Rovers); Darragh McCarthy (St. Oliver Plunketts), Niall Kelly (Newcestown); Olan Corcoran (St. Mary’s), Eoin Guinane (Valley Rovers), Evan O’Shea (Valley Rovers); Michéal Maguire (Courcey Rovers); Conor O’Sullivan ©; Séan Ahern (Bandon).

Subs: Josh Woods (Valley Rovers) for Ustianowski (29), Ronan Crowley (Kilbrittan) for McCarthy (44), Séan McEntee (Valley Rovers) for Cullinane (51), Harry O’Sullivan (Valley Rovers) for Corcoran (56), Hugh O’Mahony (Bandon) for Kelly (60).

Referee: John O’Halloran (Limerick).