Round-up: Weekend's Club Championship Hurling action

Waterford Senior Hurling Championship


Passage 1-14 Roanmore 0-13

Ballygunner 2-18 Fourmilewater 0-12

Mount Sion 3-18 De La Salle 2-17

Lismore 2-22 Abbeyside 3-11

Holders Ballygunner will face Lismore, while Mount Sion are set to clash with Passage at the penultimate round following an eventful weekend in Waterford.

Passage finished strongly to overcome Roanmore, while Maurice Shanahan and Oisin O'Gorman starred for Limsore against Abbeyside.

Shanahan finished the contest with a 1-11 haul, while O'Gorman struck 1-5 from play.

Despite a brilliant display from Mark Ferncombe, who struck 2-8, Abbeyside just couldn't deny Lismore.

Austin Gleeson was sent off late on for Mount Sion, who ovecame De La Salle with Alan Kirwan netting two goals and Martin O'Neill rifling over 11 points.

Dessie Hutchinson struck 1-4 as standard bearers Ballygunner eased into the last four.

Tipperary Senior Hurling Championship

JK Brackens 1-17 Roscrea 0-20

Kiladangan 4-15 Drom-Inch 0-18

Hollycross-Ballycahill 1-20 Clonoulty-Rossmore 2-17

Nenagh Eire Og 2-20 Eire Og Annacarty-Donohill 1-14

Thurles Sarsfields 1-25 Moycarkey-Borris 0-19

Loughmore-Castleiney 2-14 Kilruane MacDonaghs 2-12

Toomevara 3-19 Burgess 1-15

Borris-Ileigh 1-20 Upperchurch-Drombane 2-10

Niall Kenny's third quarter goal was the decisive blow as Borris-Ileigh overcame Upperchurch-Drombane at Semple Stadium.

Tommevara also advanced from that group with Mark McCarthy, Paul Ryan, and Alan Ryan grabbing goals in the win over Burgess.

Paul Flynn (2), Billy Seymour, and Dan O'Meara rattled the Drom-Inch net as Kiladangan delivered an impressive display.

Nenagh Eire Og and Clonoulty-Rosscmore also reached the knockout stages.

Jake Morris guided Nenagh to a comfortable success over Eire Og Annacarty-Donohill.

Loughmore-Castleiney proved too strong for Kilruane MacDonaghs with Evan Sweeney a key figure.

Aidan McCormack drilled a dozen points for Thurles Sarsfields, who remain serious contenders, beating Moycarkey Borris with the minimum of fuss.

Naomh Eanna's Conor McDonald celebrates at Chadwicks Wexford Park.
Naomh Eanna's Conor McDonald celebrates at Chadwicks Wexford Park.

Wexford Senior Hurling Championship


Shelmaliers 3-20 Glynn-Barntown 0-16

Naomh Eanna 1-20 Oulart-The Ballagh 1-19

Conor McDonald's last gasp point edged Naomh Eanna over the line against Oulart-The Ballagh in a thriller.

Naomh Eanna will now play against Shelmaliers in the Wexford SHC Final next Sunday.

Oulart-The Ballagh were pegged back in the closing stages by Naomh Eanna, who did clip a first half goal coutresy of Gary Molloy.

At the interval, though, Oulart-The Ballagh led by 0-13 to 1-7.

A Gareth Sinnott goal left Oulart-The Ballagh in a decent position in the closing stages, but Naomh Eanna, inspired by McDonald, responded.

Joe Kelly, Sean Keane Carroll, and James Cash contributed goals for Shelmaliers, who came thundering back following a shaky start, to beat Glynn-Barntown.

Kilkenny Senior Hurling League

James Stephens 2-16 O'Loughlin Gaels 2-16

Dicksboro 3-19 Erins Own 1-12

Clara 3-23 Rower-Inistioge 2-16

Bennettsbridge 2-22 Tullaroan 1-18

Mullinavat 0-18 Graigue-Ballycallan 0-13

Ballyhale Shamrocks 3-22 Danesfort 1-16

Dicksboro and O'Loughlin Gaels will contest the Kilkenny SHL Final.

The draw has been made also for the first round of the County Championship.

Bennettesbridge face Graigue-Ballycallan, Ballyhale Shamrocks clash with the Rower-Inistioge, Tullaoran will tussle with Erins Own, and Mullinavat battle Danesfort.

Evan Sweeney impressed for Loughmore-Castleiney against Kilruane MacDonaghs in the Tipperary SHC at Semple Stadium.
Evan Sweeney impressed for Loughmore-Castleiney against Kilruane MacDonaghs in the Tipperary SHC at Semple Stadium.

Carlow Senior Hurling Championship

Mount Leinster Rangers 0-10 St Mullins 0-10

Naomh Eoin 0-23 Bagenalstown Gaels 1-17

Mount Leinster Rangers and Naomh Eoin chalked up encouraging victories in the Carlow SHC.

Westmeath Senior Hurling Championship

Clonkill 2-15 Castlepollard 1-8

Holders Clonkill were never in any serious danger against Castlepollard, claiming a commanding win, in the Westmeath SHC.

Wicklow Senior Hurling Championship

Kiltegan 0-14 Carnew Emmets 0-14

Glenealy 1-11 Avondale 0-12

Bray Emmets 0-19 Eire Og Greystones 0-10

There was no shortage of drama in the Wicklow SHC as Bray Emmets and Glenealy earned victories, while Kiltegan and Carnew Emmets drew.

Antrim Senior Hurling Championship

Loughgiel Shamrocks 2-26 St Gall's 1-10

Ruairi Og, Cushdendall 1-20 St Enda's 1-9

Ballycastle 2-15 St John's 1-18

O'Donovan Rossa 0-18 Cuchullains-Dunloy 1-15

Aidan McNaughton scored six points from play as Ruairi Og Cushendall beat St Enda's.

O'Donovan Rossa and Dunloy played out a thrilling draw. James Connolly fired over 11 points for Rossa, while Conal Cunning and Paul Shiels were in excellent form for Dunloy.

Ballycastle and St John's were involved in another gripping encounter, while James McNaughton, Shay Casey, and Eddie McCloskey did most of the scoring damage for Loughgiel Shamrocks against St Gall's.

Donegal Senior Hurling Championship

Setanta 5-17 Sean MacCumhaills 0-9

Setanta proved far too strong for Sean MacCumhaills in the Donegal SHC on Friday evening.

Mayo Senior Hurling Championship


Ballyhaunis 0-21 Castlebar Mitchels 1-9

Tooreen 4-21 Westport 0-10

Ballyhaunis and Tooreen will contest the 2020 Mayo SHC Final next month.

It will be the eighth time in nine years that the two clubs meet in the decider.

Sligo Senior Hurling Championship

Naomh Eoin 1-17 Easkey 1-10

Coolera-Strandhill 1-14 Calry-St Joseph's 2-8

Gerald O'Kelly Lynch's 0-8 from frees and Paul Kilcoyne's 1-2 enabled Naomh Eoin to defeat Easkey, while

Coolera-Strandhill also overcame Calry-St Joseph's.