Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG



Munster SHC: Clare triumph in Thurles

Jason Forde, Tipperary, and Rory Hayes, Clare, in Munster SHC action.

Jason Forde, Tipperary, and Rory Hayes, Clare, in Munster SHC action.

Munster Senior Hurling Championship

Clare 3-21 Tipperary 2-16

By Shane Brophy at FBD Semple Stadium

Tipperary’s hopes are hanging by a thread after they were comfortably beaten by Clare in this second round Munster Championship game at FBD Semple Stadium Thurles on Sunday.

Off the back of their good performance in defeat to Waterford last Sunday, a bounce was expected from Tipp but it never came, not helped by sixteen wides and missing at least four goal chances.

Clare didn’t have to hurl that well to win but their greater efficiency in front of goal was the difference, including three first half goals from Ian Galvin, Peter Duggan, and a Tony Kelly penalty to put them in the driving seat at half time, 3-11 to 0-7.

A Ger Browne goal within two minutes of the restart failed to spark Tipp into life as they managed only one further point before they were gifted a second goal on 49 minutes when Eibhear Quilligan dropped a Barry Heffernan delivery into his own net.

It cut the deficit to nine and seven points was as close as Tipperary would come as Clare eased to the second successive championship win over the Premier County in Thurles and sets them up well for their second game, back in Thurles next Sunday against Cork.

For Tipperary, they have two weeks to lick their wounds before they tackle All-Ireland champions Limerick at the Gaelic Grounds.

Scorers for Clare: Tony Kelly 1-7 (1-0 pen, 0-5 frees); Peter Duggan, Ian Galvin 1-2 each; Ryan Taylor, Shane O’Donnell, Robyn Mounsey 0-2 each; Rory Hayes, Diarmuid Ryan, David McInerney, David Fitzgerald 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: Jason Forde 0-7 (5 frees, 1 65, 1 s-cut); Ger Browne 1-3; Barry Heffernan 1-0; Ronan Maher 0-2 (1 free); Cathal Barrett, Noel McGrath, Michael Breen, Mark Kehoe 0-1 each.

Clare: Eibhear Quilligan; Rory Hayes, Conor Cleary, Paul Flanagan; Diarmuid Ryan, John Conlon, David McInerney; Ryan Taylor, Cathal Malone; Tony Kelly, Shane O’Donnell, David Fitzgerald; Ian Galvin, Peter Duggan, Robyn Mounsey.

Subs: Patrick Crotty for Galvin (49); Domhnall McMahon for Fitzgerald (62); Shane Golden for Mounsey (70); Jason McCarthy for O’Donnell (70+1); Jack Browne for Taylor (70+4).

Tipperary: Brian Hogan; Cathal Barrett, James Quigley, Craig Morgan; Dillon Quirke, Ronan Maher, Seamus Kennedy; Dan McCormack, Barry Heffernan; Jake Morris, Noel McGrath, Michael Breen; Jason Forde, Mark Kehoe, John McGrath.

Subs: Ger Browne for J McGrath (23 inj); Brian McGrath for Quigley (27 inj); Conor Stakelum for McCormack (HT); Gearoid O’Connor for Morris (49); Alan Flynn for Heffernan (65).

Referee: James Owens (Wexford).