Joe Stack of Midleton CBS celebrates scoring his side's second goal during the Harty Cup Final match between CBC Cork and Midleton CBS at Páirc Uí Rinn in Cork.
Joe Stack of Midleton CBS celebrates scoring his side's second goal during the Harty Cup Final match between CBC Cork and Midleton CBS at Páirc Uí Rinn in Cork. 

Midleton CBS crowned Harty Cup champions

Dr. Harty Cup Final


By Denis Hurley at Páirc Ui Rinn

Goals were the difference as Midleton CBS bridged a 13-year gap to take Dr Harty Cup (Munster PPS U19AHC) glory at Páirc Uí Rinn on Saturday afternoon.

In 2006, Paudie O’Sullivan had captained the East Cork school to the title but no Cork side had gone all the way since then. The county statistic was guaranteed to end as Chrstian Brothers College reached their first decider in 101 years along with Midleton, but ultimately the green flags proved decisive.

Before a crowd of 7,089 – the B final was an all-Cork affair too, with St Francis College, Rochestown beating Bandon’s Hamilton High School – Midleton, in blue alternative jerseys, enjoyed a dream start to the game. Inside the first minute, Joe Stack had a chance and Cillian O’Donovan made a superb block, but they school didn’t have long to wait. The clock had yet to reach three minutes when Ryan McCarthy’s free dropped close to goal, allowing Jason Hankard to brilliantly double on the ball and send it to the net.

Ross O’Regan’s point opened up a four-point lead but CBC – beaten by Rockwell College in the first Harty final, in 1918 – responded well and had seven of the next eight points.

Pádraig Power’s free-taking was impeccable for CBC – he finished with ten points – while midfielder Declan Hanlon chipped in with two points as they moved 0-7 to 1-2 ahead.

Ryan McCarthy replied with a Midleton free, though CBC might have had a goal as Jack Cahalane got on the end of a good move but Jack McGann denied him.

At the other end, Joe Stack forced a turnover and created space for himself to shoot, but Cian Long saved well. McCarthy levelled with the resultant 65.

The remainder of the half saw the lead transferred to and fro. After Power’s fifth for CBC, Cathal Hickey and McCarthy moved Midleton 1-6 to 0-8 in front but Power and Shane Barrett had CBC in front before McCarthy’s fourth point levelled matters in injury time.

Twice, Power put CBC ahead early in the second half, Ross O’Regan replying in between, and sandwiching Ryan McCarthy’s point to level at 1-9 to 0-12 were a pair of excellent Jack McGann saves.

First, he got down brilliantly to stop Niall Hartnett’s well-hit effort on 38 minutes and just before the three-quarter mark he stood up as Pádraig Power got through. McCarthy’s sixth of the game put Midleton ahead again and though Power’s ninth levelled, Joe Stack struck for the second goal on 53, after David Barry blocked his first effort.

Power did reply but it was to be CBC’s final score. Ross O’Regan went close to a third Midleton goal, denied by Cian Long, but O’Regan added two points to ensure victory.

Scorers for Midleton CBS: Ryan McCarthy 0-6 (0-5 frees), Ross O’Regan 0-4 (0-2 frees), Joe Stack 1-1, Jason Hankard 1-0, Cathal Hickey 0-1.

Scorers for CBC: Pádraig Power 0-10 (0-9 frees), Declan Hanlon 0-2, Owen McCarthy, Shane Barrett 0-1 each.

MIDLETON CBS: Jack McGann; Darragh Moran, Dylan Hogan, Cormac O’Brien; Ritchie Landers, Ciarán Joyce, Dylan Healy; Sam Quirke, Ryan McCarthy; Cathal Hickey, Gary Carroll, Ross O’Regan; Jason Hankard, Joe Stack, Kian Farmer. Subs: Olan Broderick for Landers (35), Arthur Nganou for Quirke (50), Peter Hassett for Hickey (60).

CBC: Cian Long; David Barry, Peadar Hennessy, Cillian O’Donovan; Carthach Daly, Iarlaith Daly, Gearóid Mulcahy; Declan Hanlon, Kevin Finn; Owen McCarthy, Niall Hartnett, Shane Barrett; Jack Cahalane, Jack O’Kelly, Pádraig Power. Subs: James Scally for McCarthy (50), Robbie Cotter for O’Kelly (59), Conor Murphy for Mulcahy (60, injured).

Referee: Johnny Murphy (Limerick).