Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG

Maynooth University win Electric Ireland Ryan Cup

Electric Ireland Ryan Cup Final


By Denis Hurley at Mallow

An excellent all-round performance from Maynooth University secured victory in the Ryan Cup on Saturday as they proved too strong for Ulster University in the final at Mallow.

Having edged out IT Tralee in Friday’s semi-final, the Kildare college took control from the off with the wind at their backs and by half-time they were in a comfortable position with an 0-11 to 0-4 lead.

A goal from Aaron Amond on the resumption solidified that advantage and Maynooth pushed on impressively, with nine players in total getting on the scoresheet.

Maynooth settled well with points from Jack Travers and the excellent Pádraig Walsh and though Aidy Kelly got UU off the mark with a free, they needed goalkeeper Ryan Elliott to make a fine double save from Amond and then Seán Buggy.

Even with those missed opportunities, Maynooth continued to press home their superiority and Walsh, Buggy (free) and man of the match Brian Hogan put them 0-5 to 0-1 in front before Daithí Sands responded for UU.

Another excellent long-range point from Hogan, this time from a free, and a score by sub Alan Hosey were part of a five-point Maynooth run as half-time approached, though Kelly’s third for UU in injury did reduce the gap slightly, seven between the sides at half-time.

When Amond poked home from close range to open the first-half scoring, the game was as good as beyond University of Ulster and a second goal arrived from Lalor on 44 after Buggy’s initial shot had been blocked.

UU, who had had a tough battle against GMIT on Friday, persevered and had scores from James O’Connell, Kelly and Rice, but Maynooth finished well with points from Walsh (two), Buggy and sub Cathal Kirwan to secure victory by 14 points.

Scorers for Maynooth University: Pádraig Walsh, Seán Buggy (4fs) 0-5 each, MJ Lalor 1-2, Aaron Amond 1-1, Brian Hogan 0-2 (2fs), Ronan Smith, Jack Travers, Cathal Kirwan, Alan Hosey 0-1 each.

Scorers for Ulster University: Aidy Kelly 0-4 (4fs), James O’Connell 0-2, Gerard Walsh (f), Kevin Rice, Daithí Sands 0-1 each.

*MAYNOOTH UNIVERSITY: *Eoghan Byrne (Kilkenny); Steven Stafford (Wexford), Emmet Moloney (Tipperary), Philip Smith (Dublin); Cathal Moloney (Tipperary), Brian Hogan (Tipperary), Ross Donohoe (Wexford); Pádraig Walsh (Kilkenny), Jack Travers (Kildare); Frank Bass (Kildare), Brian McDonnell (Dublin), Ronan Smith (Dublin); Aaron Amond (Carlow), MJ Lalor (Laois), Seán Buggy (Kilkenny).

Subs: Alan Hosey (Carlow) for Bass (22), Cathal Kirwan (Offaly) for Amond (53), Gearóid Egan (Roscommon) for Donohoe (58), Eoghan O’Hara (Carlow) for Lalor (59), Liam Mulroney (Dublin) for McDonnell (60).

ULSTER UNIVERSITY: Ryan Elliott (Antrim); Conor Boyd (Antrim), Conor Burke (Antrim), Conor Carson (Antrim); Gerard Walsh (Antrim), Paddy Burke (Antrim), Marc Fisher (Down); James O’Connell (Anrim), James Ging (Laois); Kevin Rice (Antrim), Johnny O’Dwyer (Derry), Liam Dunphy (Kilkenny); Malachi Magee (Down), Aidy Kelly (Tyrone), Daithí Sands (Down).

*Subs: *Shea Hunter (Antrim) for Ging (13), Peter McCallin (Antrim) for Dunphy (39), Conor McHugh (Antrim) for O’Dwyer (42), Aidan Orchin (Antrim) for Fisher (48), Stephen Walsh (Antrim) for Sands (56).

REFEREE: Cathal McAllister (Cork).

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions