Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Limerick proved too strong for Wexford in the first of the New York Classic semi-finals at Citi Field in New York. 
Limerick proved too strong for Wexford in the first of the New York Classic semi-finals at Citi Field in New York. 

Limerick hurlers overpower Wexford in NY Classic semi-final

New York Hurling Classic Semi-Final 1


By Shane O’Brien at Citi Field

Defending champions Limerick have gotten their campaign off to an ideal start with a facile 32-point win over Wexford at Citi Field in the opening semi-final of the New York Hurling Classic. The Treaty County were far too good for their Leinster opponents and effectively wrapped up the win by half time.

The game started in decidedly slow fashion, with Limerick missing two penalties inside the opening three minutes as both sides tried in vain for the opening score. It was Wexford who eventually opened the scoring through Shaun Murphy who fired home from long range to beat Nickie Quaid with a six-pointer.

Limerick’s response was emphatic. First, Paddy O’Loughlin rounded Mark Fanning to get the Treaty County off the mark with a fourpointer, before a quickfire brace from Aaron Costello and a further effort from Pat Ryan put the defending champions in a commanding position. Paul Morris goaled for Wexford to break a 15 minute spell, but Limerick quickly responded through a penalty from Barry Hennessy and a fortuitous effort from Conor Boylan to go in with a 16-point lead at the break.

The second half began as the first ended with a six-pointer from Seamus Flanagan and a four-pointer from Darragh O’Donovan further establishing Limerick’s dominance. Wexford struggled to muster any sort of response thereafter and goals from Damien Reck and Cathal Dunbar were both quickly cancelled out.

Scorers for Limerick: Aaron Costello 8, Gearoid Hegarty 6 (1 pen), Barry Hennessy 6 (1 pen), Seamus Flanagan 6, Darragh O’Donovan 4, Paddy O’Loughlin 4, Pat Ryan 4.

Scorers for Wexford: Cathal Dunbar 6 (1 pen), Shaun Murphy 6, Damien Reck 4, Paul Morris 4.

Limerick panel: Nickie Quaid; Sean Finn, Mike Casey, Richie English, Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Cian Lynch, William O’Donoghue, Gearoid Hegarty, Kyle Hayes, Tom Morrissey, Aaron Gillane, Graeme Mulcahy, Peter Casey, Barry Hennessy, Andrew La Touche Cosgrave, Aaron Costello, Conor Boylan, Seamus Flanagan, Barry Nash, Darragh O’Donovan, Paddy O’Loughlin, David Reidy, Colin Ryan, Pat Ryan, Paul Browne, Kevin Downes, Richie McCarthy, Robbie Hanley. David Dempsey.

Wexford panel: Mark Fanning; Shane Reck, Liam Ryan, Simon Donoghue, Paudie Foley, Damien Reck, James Breen, Shaun Murphy, Kevin Foley, Aidan Nolan, Lee Chin, Conor McDonald, David Dunne, Paul Morris, Liam Og McGovern, Eanna Martin, Rory Higgins, Gavin Bailey, Cathal Dunbar, Ross Donoghue, Seamus Casey, Ian Byrne, Eoin Molloy, Matthew O’Hanlon.

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions