Fintan Burke, St Thomas', and Cian Salmon, Clarinbridge, in action during the Galway SHC Final at Pearse Stadium.
Fintan Burke, St Thomas', and Cian Salmon, Clarinbridge, in action during the Galway SHC Final at Pearse Stadium.

Galway SHC Final: St Thomas' retain title

Galway SHC Final


By Cian O’Connell at Pearse Stadium

This was another reminder of St Thomas’ considerable steel and still as Kenneth Burke’s team collected a fourth Galway SHC title in a row.

Clarinbridge brought a talented outfit to Salthill, but Thomas’ had sufficient class and character to prevail following an interesting encounter.

Prompted by the brilliance of Conor Cooney, who contributed 0-11, Thomas were able to fend off Clarinbridge’s spirited challenge.

Conor Cooney was prominent throughout the first half as St Thomas’ led at the interval by 0-10 to 0-9.

The St Thomas’ centre forward struck six points before the break, including two from play, as Thomas’ held a narrow advantage.

A promising Clarinbridge outfit provided glimpses of their promise with Mikey Daly, Gavin Lee, Mark Kennedy, and Niall Armstrong rifling over sweet points.

At the opposite end of the field, though, Cooney was sharp, while Darragh Burke also mined a couple of scores for Thomas’.

After the restart Thomas’ were assisted by some crafty moments from Eanna Burke and Oisin Flannery as they edged 0-16 to 0-12 in front by the third quarter mark.

Evan Niland was sharp from frees for challengers Clarinbridge, who trimmed the gap down to two before Cooney clipped three points in a row.

It was a crucial burst from Thomas’. Admirably Clarinbridge responded with Niland adding a couple of scores, but they couldn’t net the goal that was required. Thomas’ will enter the AIB All Ireland Club series heartened.

Scorers for St Thomas’: Conor Cooney 0-11 (6fs), James Regan, Eanna Burke, Darragh Burke, and Oisin Flannery 0-2 each, David Burke 0-1.

Scorers for Clarinbridge: Evan Niland 0-10 (9fs), Gavin Lee and Mark Kennedy 0-2 each, Mikey Daly, TJ Brennan, and Niall Armstrong 0-1 each.

ST THOMAS’: Gerald Kelly; David Sherry, Fintan Burke, Cian Mahony; Evan Duggan, Shane Cooney, Cathal Burke; David Burke, Bernard Burke; James Regan, Conor Cooney, Eanna Burke; Oisin Flannery, Darragh Burke, Damian McGlynn.

Subs: Victor Manso for B Burke (50), Brendan Farrell for McGlynn (50), Damien Finnerty for E Burke (60).

CLARINBRIDGE: Aaron Bindon; Christy Bannon, Ian O’Brien, Oisín Salmon; Seán Kilduff, TJ Brennan, Shane Ryan; Shane Bannon, Patrick Foley; Mikey Daly, Evan Niland, Mark Kennedy; Gavin Lee, Cian Salmon, Niall Armstrong.

Subs: Liam Leen for Armstrong (44).

REFEREE: Liam Gordon.