Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
John McGrath in action

John McGrath in action

D1A: Tipperary condemn Cork to yet another defeat


By Jackie Cahill at Semple Stadium, Thurles

Tipperary advanced to the quarter-finals of the Allianz Hurling League with a big win over Cork at Semple Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

The hosts ran out 12-point victors in Thurles to condemn the Rebels to a fifth defeat from five League outings. Tipp’s success staves off the threat of a relegation playoff and they will instead meet Division 1B winners Clare in the last eight.

Cork already knew they would be playing in a relegation playoff and their opponents were confirmed as Galway on Sunday. There were big displays for Tipp from rising young stars Michael Breen and John McGrath in front of 7,251 spectators.

Breen scored 1-4 from play and McGrath five points on a day when John ‘Bubbles’ O’Dwyer hit nine of his ten points from frees.

Tipp could also afford the luxury of 16 wides in this high-scoring shootout – with both sides probably happy that they won’t have to face each other again in a relegation shootout before the Munster SHC quarter-final in May.

Tipp led by 0-13 to 0-10 at half-time before welcoming back Seamus Callanan as an interval sub for his first taste of League action this year. Niall O’Meara scored Tipp’s first goal 20 minutes from time before Cork’s leading scorer Patrick Horgan (1-8) netted with 13 minutes left.

Breen drilled home a superb effort with five minutes left before Cork sub Paudie O’Sullivan goaled at the other end from the next attack.

Scorers for Tipperary: J O’Dwyer 0-10 (9f), M Breen 1-4, J McGrath 0-5, N O’Meara 1-1, N McGrath, S Callanan 0-2, D McCormack 0-2, B Maher 0-1

*Scorers for Cork: *P Horgan 1-8 (6f), P O’Sullivan 1-0, C Lehane 0-3, P Haughney 0-1, B Lawton 0-1, B Cooper 0-1, L O’Farrell 0-1

TIPPERARY: *D Gleeson; C Barrett, J Barry, C O’Brien; B Heffernan, R Maher, P Maher; B Maher, M Breen; J O’Dwyer, N O’Meara, N McGrath; K Morris, J McGrath, A Ryan. Subs:* D McCormack for Ryan (h.t.), S Callanan for Morris (h.t.), W Ryan for Heffernan (52), A Coffey for N McGrath (59), T Hamill for Barry (66).

CORK: P Collins; K Burke, S McDonnell, C O’Sullivan; C Murphy, C Joyce, S O’Neill; P Haughney, J Cronin; B Lawton, C Lehane, B Cooper; L O’Farrell, A Cadogan, P Horgan.* Subs:* D Kearney for J Cronin (h.t.), P Cronin for Lawton (55), P O’Sullivan for Cooper (57), S Murphy for Burke (58), S Moylan for O’Farrell (67).

Referee: P O’Dwyer (Carlow)

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions