John Power in action for Carrickshock at Croke Park.

John Power in action for Carrickshock at Croke Park.

Classy Carrickshock earn AIB All Ireland Intermediate Hurling title

AIB All Ireland Intermediate Club Hurling Final

Carrickshock (Kilkenny) 2-15 Ahascragh-Fohenagh (Galway) 0-6

Favourites Carrickshock produced a dynamic display to win the All Ireland Intermediate Championship at Croke Park.

Carrickshock dominated the first half accumulating a commanding 1-6 to 0-2 interval lead. Jamie Power's 23rd minute goal was a crucial score for Carrickshock, who were firmly in command against Ahascragh-Fohenagh.

The Galway and Connacht champions only registered two first half scores courtesy of Cathal Mannion against Carrickshock, who had reeled off the opening six points of the match.

Four minutes after the break Damien Walsh blasted a second Carrickshock goal as Ahascragh-Fohenagh trailed by nine points.

Former Kilkenny stars Michael Rice and Richie Power added fine scores for Carrickshock, who were never seriously troubled in the closing stages.

Scorers for Carrickshock: R Power 0-6 (1f), D Walsh 1-1, John Power 0-2, K Farrell 0-2 (2fs), D Brennan 0-1, P Tennyson 0-1, M O'Dwyer 0-1, M Rice 0-1.

*Scorers for Ahascragh-Fohenagh: *C Mannion 0-5 (3fs), L Cosgrove 0-1.

Carrickshock: Jamie Power; D Franks, J Dalton, J Grace; J Cahill, J Tennyson, N Tennyson; B O'Donovan, M Rice; John Power, R Power, D Walsh; K Farrell, D Brennan, M O'Dwyer.

Subs used: J Butler, S Power, P Tennyson, J Murphy, M Rohan.

*Ahascragh-Fohenagh: *D Kelly; B Kilroy, J Kelly, P Gavin; JP Egan, P Mannion, J Finnerty; S Kelly, L Tully; L Cosgrove, E Delaney, F Donnellan; C Mannion, R Kelly, M Kelly.

*Subs used: *S Conneely, E O'Ceallaigh, C Cosgrove, S Smyth, D Smyth.