Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Antrim celebrate their Ulster Minor Hurling Final victory.

Antrim celebrate their Ulster Minor Hurling Final victory.

Antrim defeat Down in Ulster Minor Hurling Final

Ulster Minor Hurling Final

ANTRIM 2-15 DOWN 0-11

A strong second-half display earned Antrim a fourth Ulster minor hurling title in a row with Conal Doherty-Cunning scoring 10 points at Owenbeg.

The saffrons were behind for the entire first-half of Sunday's final and trailed by 0-8 to 0-4 after 28 minutes, Conor McCrickard scoring 0-5 for Down.

Doherty-Cunning got three quick scores before the break, the last of which was his first from play, to bring Antrim to within a point of Down at the interval.

The sides were level four times in the opening 10 minutes of the second half before Antrim broke free, Alex O'Boyle's point putting them ahead for the first time in the 44th minute.

Donal McKernan slotted home a penalty after 51 minutes, after Doherty-Cunning was fouled, and sub Peter McCallin ran from deep for a spectacular injury-time goal.

The saffrons will play Galway in the All-Ireland quarter-final.

*Scorers for Antrim – *C Doherty-Cunning 0-10 (8f), D McKernan 1-0 (pen), P McCallin 1-0, K Molloy 0-2, A O'Boyle, D Black, E O'Neill 0-1 each

Scorers for Down – C McCrickard 0-5 (4f), D Sands 0-2, S McKay, A Doran, R McCrickard 0-1 each, D Rooney 0-1 (f)

ANTRIM: P Carlin; C Kinsella, L Gillan, E McQuillan; S Magill, C Boyd, E Smyth; G Laverty, K Molloy; A O'Boyle, D Black, D McKernan; D McShane, C Doherty-Cunning, E O'Neill. Subs: P McCallin for O'Boyle (47), E Laverty for Black (54), C McDonnell for McKernan (56), R Crummey for McShane (60)

DOWN: H Flynn; E Kelly, P Branagan, J Carlin; C Smyth, E Coulter, D Rooney; R McCrickard, D McCartney; T Murray, D Sands, C McCrickard; S McKey, A Mee, A Doran. Subs: M McKey for Murray (46), P Miskimmon for Doran (54), C Hynes for Smyth (58)

REFEREE: James Connors (Donegal)

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions