Mayfield claimed AIB All Ireland Junior glory at Croke Park.

Mayfield claimed AIB All Ireland Junior glory at Croke Park.

AIB All Ireland Junior Hurling victory for Mayfield

AIB All Ireland Junior Club Hurling Final

Mayfield (Cork) 2-16 Mooncoin (Kilkenny) 1-18

Nicky Kelly delivered a man of the match performance as Mayfield claimed the AIB All Ireland Club Junior Hurling title at Croke Park.

A thrilling encounter was decided by Kelly's late score as the Cork and Munster champions prevailed. Kelly drilled over 0-11 for Mayfield, who led by 2-9 to 1-6 at the break.

Patrick Duggan and David Malone hit first half goals for Mayfield, while John Fitzgerald registered a major for Mooncoin.

An eventful second half followed as Mooncoin responded impressively with Eamonn Hennebry hugely effective.

It was level in the closing stages before Kelly's injury time point ensured Mayfield were crowned All Ireland champions at GAA headquarters.

Scorers for Mayfield: N Kelly 0-11 (6fs, 165), D Malone 1-2, P Duggan 1-0, K Punch 0-1, D O'Neill 0-1, S Duggan 0-1.

Scorers for Mooncoin: K Crowley 0-8 (5fs, 165), J Fitzgerald 1-1, E Henebry 0-3, A Walsh 0-2, R Wall 0-2, M Grace 0-1, P Walsh 0-1.

Mayfield: R O’Keefe; K Brosnan, D Lucey, B O’Leary; G Lehane, S O’Donovan, G Looney; K Punch, D Hayes; D O’Neill, N Kelly, D Malone; S Duggan, S Kelly, P Duggan.

Subs: I Looney for S Duggan (51 mins), C O’Sullivan for Punch (57 mins), K Walsh for S Kelly (57 mins).

Mooncoin: E Purcell; C Brophy, N Mackey, L Henebry; C Daly, E Henebry, S Kearns; C Fleming, K Crowley; S Walsh, A Walsh, R Wall; M Grace, E Henebry , J Fitzgerald.

Subs: E Ryan for Fleming, K Kirwan for S Walsh, P Henebry for Grace, P Walsh for Wall.

Referee: C Cunning (Antrim).