Allianz Hurling League Roinn 2B

Meath 0-20 0-14 Donegal

Avant Money Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada
Colm McDonald
Extra Time if Necessary
Allianz HL D2B Final: Meath finish strongly
Brendan McKeon, Meath, and Richie Ryan, Donegal, during the Allianz Hurling League Division 2B Finalat Avant Money Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada in Carrick-on-Shannon, Leitrim. Photo by Stephen Marken/Sportsfile

Allianz HL D2B Final: Meath finish strongly

Allianz Hurling League Division 2B Final

Meath 0-20 Donegal 0-14

Meath finished with a real flourish to defeat Donegal at Avant Money Páirc Seán MacDiarmada.

Only one point divided the teams with 10 minutes remaining, but Seoirse Bulfin's outfit pulled clear.

It was an excellent burst from the Royals as Jack Regan, Seán Geraghty, Stephen Morris, and lively substitute Daire Shine all contributed vital scores.

Regan's 0-10 haul was instrumental for Meath, who had to demonstrate resilience against a determined Donegal side.

Eamon O Donnchadha was splendid for Meath, while Martin Healy and Padraig O'Hanrahan also notched early scores for the favourites.

At the end of a tight opening period Meath departed armed with a 0-10 to 0-8 advantage.

After the restart, though, Donegal reeled off three points without reply to edge in front courtesy of a fine Declan Coulter score.

Meath didn't panic with Regan expertly converting pressure frees.

Donegal did craft some goalscoring opportunities, but Meath goalkeeper Charlie Ennis was sharp throughout.

In the closing stages Shine made an impact for Meath, who eventually secured silverware.

Scorers for Meath: Jack Regan 0-10 (10fs), Eamon O Donnchadha 0-4, Daire Shine and Padraig O'Hanrahan (1f) 0-2 each, Martin Healy and Stephen Morris 0-1 each.

Scorers for Donegal: Liam McKinney 0-8 (5fs), Ruairi Campbell, Ritchie Ryan, Jack O’Loughin 0-1, Ciaran Bradley, Padraig Doherty, and Declan Coulter 0-1 each.

Meath: Charlie Ennis; Gerard Dwane, Damien Healy, Brendan McKeon; Niall McLarnon, James Toher, Simon Ennis; Sean Geraghty, Martin Healy; Stephen Morris, Jack Regan, Mikey Cole; Sean Quigley, Padraig O’Hanrahan, Eamon O'Donnchadha. Subs: Patrick Barnwell for Cole, James Kelly for O’Hanrahan, Shine for Martin Healy, Coloe for Sean Quigley, Brennan for Niall McLarnon.

Donegal: Luke White; Ciaran Bradley, Michael Donaghue, Padraig Doherty; Ryan Hilferty, Christopher McDermott, Stephen McBride; Jack O’Loughlin, Brian McIntyre; Sean Ward, Ronan McDermott, Liam McKinney; Daire O’Maoileidigh, Ritchie Ryan, Ruairi Campbell. Subs: Oisin Marley for Ward, Stephen Gillespie for Bradley, Declan Coulter for McIntyre, Danny Cullen for Campbell, Conor O’Grady for Hilferty.

Referee: Colm McDonald (Antrim).