WATCH: Jubilee 1995 All Ireland SFC Final

By Cian O'Connell

“Ending up back in the final in 95 was the end of a long road really," Keith Barr told a couple of years ago.

"It was a long road of dedication, hard work, and a lot of disappointment along the way.”

Then Dublin claimed a first title since 1983 when Tyrone were beaten in a tight decider.

Ultimately the summer is fondly remembered for the emergence of Jason Sherlock to add an extra layer of attacking class to an experienced team.

Dublin won the All Ireland SFC in 1995.
Dublin won the All Ireland SFC in 1995.

Sherlock provided a dash of flair and in a demanding Championship, Dublin finally reached the summit.

Tyrone, with Peter Canavan in his pomp, posed all sorts of demanding September questions, but Dublin survived.


Scorers for Dublin: D Farrell 0-4 (1f), C Redmond 1-1 (1f), P Clarke 0-2 (1f), K Barr 0-1 (f), J Gavin 0-1, P Curran 0-1.

Scorers for Tyrone: P Canavan 0-11 (10fs), J Gormley 0-1.

DUBLIN: J O’Leary; P Moran, C Walsh, K Galvin; P Curran, K Barr, M Deegan; P Bealin, B Stynes; J Gavin, D Farrell, P Clarke; M Galvin, J Sherlock, C Redmond.

Subs: P Gilroy for K Galvin; R Boyle for M Galvin; V Murphy for Farrell.

TYRONE: F McConnell; P Devlin, C Lawn, F Devlin; R McGarrihy, S McCallan, S McLaughlin; F Logan, J Gormley; C Corr (capt), Pascal Canavan, C Loughran; C McBride, Peter Canavan, S Lawn.

Subs: M McGleenan for C Loughran; B Gormley for S Lawn; P Donnelly for S McCallan.