Mark McCabe converted a free for Meath in the shootout.

Mark McCabe converted a free for Meath in the shootout.

Sunday's inter-county Gaelic Football round-up

Bord Na Mona O’Byrne Cup Semi-Finals

MEATH 1-19 LONGFORD 2-16 After Extra-Time, Meath win free kick competition 2-1


There was no shortage of drama at Pairc Tailteann as Meath eventually prevailed.

The teams were deadlocked after extra-time so a free taking competition was required.

Mark McCabe and Cillian O'Sullivan scored for Meath, while Seanie McCormack was the only Longford player to score, and the Royals will now face Westmeath in the final.

Level at 1-12 each at the end of normal time it remained interesting throughout.

Sean Tobin (Meath) and Robbie Smyth (Longford) struck goals, but in extra-time points from James McEntee, Bryan Menton, and Daniel O'Neill put Meath four clear.

But a late rally which featured 1-1 from Mickey Quinn forced a shoot-out as Meath  advanced.

Colin Kelly earned a third straight win as Westmeath boss as the home team survived a spirited Offaly fightback at TEG Cusack Park.

Denis Corroon's goal steered Westmeath into a decent 1-7 to 1-2 lead against Offaly at half-time.

Joey O'Connor pinched an early major for Offaly, but Westmeath responded in impressive fashion.

Alex Gardiner fisted over a vital late point for Westmeath, who claimed a morale boosting success over their neighbours in Mullingar.

Dr McKenna Cup Semi-Final


McKenna Cup specialists Tyrone registered a victory over Fermanagh at Brewster Park.

Tyrone, who have won the competition for the last six years, led at the break by 0-6 to 0-3.

Conor McAliskey, Darren McCurry, and Richie Donnelly rifled over opening period points for Mickey Harte's side.

Kane Connor's sending off in the first half was a blow for Fermanagh, who were only able to land one further score after the restart.

Dr McKenna Cup

ARMAGH 1-15 DERRY 0-13

DOWN 1-14 UUJ 0-9


Armagh and Donegal will contest the second McKenna Cup Semi-Final on Wednesday evening.

Backed by the wind in the opening period Armagh led by 1-8 to 0-5 at half-time in front of 2,506 spectators in the Athletic Grounds.

The impressive Andrew Murnin bagged a goal for Kieran McGeeney's team.

James Kielt landed scores for Derry when the action recommenced, but Armagh held on.

Donegal pounced to score four goals against Monaghan in Clones.

Paddy McBrearty was in brilliant form for Declan Bonner's outfit, finishing the contest with a 1-8 haul.

Ryan McHugh, Jamie Brennan, and Odhran MacNiallais also bagged goals for a dominant Donegal side.

In the closing stages debutant goalkeeper Shaun Patton saved a penalty from Micheal Bannigan.

Jack McCarron contributed eight points for Monaghan, but Donegal advanced to the knockout stages.

Connaire Harrison clipped the only goal of the game as Down defeated UUJ.

Connacht FBD League



Roscommon and Galway maintained their good Connacht FBD League form by recording wins.

Despite Ian Kilbride's sending off, Kevin McStay's Roscommon fended off Mayo's challenge at Dr Hyde Park.

The home team shaded the opening period as a Diarmuid Murtagh free on the stroke of half-time ensured the locals were 0-8 to 0-7 ahead at the turnaround.

Fionn McDonagh and Conor O'Shea replied with points for Mayo, who took the lead in the 39th minute.

But Roscommon struck six of the next eight scores courtesy of Enda Smith, Diarmuid Murtagh (3), Conor Daly, and Ciarain Murtagh.

In Clonbur Dessie Conneely (2) and Frankie Burke netted goals as an experimental Galway selection proved too strong for Leitrim.