Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Roscommon manager Kevin McStay.

Roscommon manager Kevin McStay.

Preview: Roscommon v Galway

Sunday June 17

Connacht Senior Football Championship Final

Roscommon v Galway, Dr Hyde Park, 4pm

For the third year in a row Roscommon and Galway contest a Connacht Senior Football Championship Final.

In 2016 Galway prevailed following a replay, last year Roscommon triumphed at Pearse Stadium so the stakes are piled high with the winners becoming the first team to reach the new All Ireland Quarter-Final round robin series.

That is the objective for two teams, who have shown encouraging signs of progress in recent campaigns.

A year ago Roscommon were relegated from Division One of the Allianz Football League, but the response has been admirable.

Roscommon returned to the western summit before earning Division Two glory to secure a place at the highest level in 2019.

This spring Galway, who hadn't played in Division One since 2011, advanced to the League decider, but lost to Dublin at Croke Park.

Championship triumphs over Mayo and Sligo have followed for Kevin Walsh's outfit, who are aware of the threat Roscommon carry.

The Murtaghs and Smiths are performing well for Roscommon, who were far too strong for Leitrim at the penultimate stage. Roscommon haven't secured back to back Connacht crowns since 1990 and 1991 so the locals will be pumped for Sunday's encounter.

ROSCOMMON: Colm Lavin; David Murray, Peter Domican, Niall McInerney; John McManus, Fintan Cregg, Brian Stack; Cathal Compton, Tadhg O'Rourke; Ciarain Murtagh, Enda Smith, Conor Devaney; Donie Smith, Diarmuid Murtagh, Niall Kilroy.

GALWAY: Ruairi Lavelle; Declan Kyne, Sean Andy O'Ceallaigh, David Wynne; Cathal Sweeney, Gareth Bradshaw, Sean Kelly; Paul Conroy, Tom Flynn; Eamonn Brannigan, Shane Walsh, Johnny Heaney; Ian Burke, Damien Comer, Barry McHugh.

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions