Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Darren Hughes, Monaghan, and Aidan O'Shea, Mayo, before the 2018 Allianz Football League Division One clash in Clones.
Darren Hughes, Monaghan, and Aidan O'Shea, Mayo, before the 2018 Allianz Football League Division One clash in Clones.

Preview: Allianz Football League Division One

Allianz Football League Division One

Sunday March 24

Cavan v Dublin, Kingspan Breffni, 2pm

An unlikely collection of results is what Cavan are hoping for to avoid an instant return to Division Two.

That Cavan were unfortunate in several of their five losses merely adds to the frustration, but Dublin will also want to summon a response after losing to Tyrone.

Surprisingly that was Dublin's third reversal in six encounters so it has been a slightly disappointing spring campaign for the All Ireland champions.

A League Final berth cannot now be obtained, but Dublin will still want to take the spoils at Kingspan Breffni.

Jim Gavin has afforded emerging players opportunities throughout the early months of the campaign ahead of what promises to be an interesting summer.

Mayo v Monaghan, Elverys MacHale Park, 2pm

This should be a lively tussle in Castlebar as Mayo are striving to advance to the decider, while Monaghan need the spoils to guarantee survival.

Roscommon's clash with Kerry also carries weight for Monaghan, who did enough to secure a valuable victory over neighbours Cavan to ease their worries.

James Horan's Mayo stitched a three match winning sequence together before losing to Dublin and Galway.

So the Aidan O'Shea and Matthew Ruane inspired success away to Kerry has injected the green and red account with two important points.

It also means that a Mayo victory and favourable results elsewhere could earn them a Croke Park outing next weekend.

MAYO: David Clarke; Stephen Coen, Brendan Harrison, Eoin O'Donoghue; Paddy Durcan, Michael Plunkett, James McCormack; Matthew Ruane, Aidan O'Shea; Fergal Boland, Jason Doherty, Diarmuid O'Connor; Kevin McLoughlin, Darren Coen, Conor Diskin.

Galway's Johnny Heaney in Allianz Football League action against Tyrone last year.
Galway's Johnny Heaney in Allianz Football League action against Tyrone last year.

Roscommon v Kerry, Dr Hyde Park, 2pm

Another match with significance attached takes place at Dr Hyde Park when Roscommon, gunning to avoid relegation, host Kerry.

Peter Keane's outfit suffered against Mayo last Saturday in Tralee so will be pumped to summon a response in the west.

For Roscommon it has been a strange stint with some early promise demonstrated, but last weekend's display in Salthill against Galway was a setback.

The continued good scoring form of Kerry native Conor Cox, though, is a boost for Anthony Cunningham's charges.

Ultimately it has been a satisfying League for Kerry's developing panel, who would relish a chance to perform in a national decider. A victory would be sufficient to guarantee themselves that opportunity.

KERRY: Shane Ryan; Peter Crowley, Jack Sherwood, Graham O'Sullivan; Gavin Crowley, Paul Murphy, Tom O'Sullivan; Jack Barry, Diarmuid O'Connor; Dara Moynihan, Sean O'Shea, Stephen O'Brien; Kevin McCarthy, Tommy Walsh, David Clifford.

Tyrone v Galway, Healy Park, 2pm

Having lost to Kerry and Mayo in the opening two rounds Tyrone were under duress.

Then Niall Morgan skipped forward to land a remarkable equalising point against Roscommon. A point gained and one made too.

Three Tyrone victories, including one against Dublin, have followed ensuring Mickey Harte's outfit are in the hunt for a top two finish.

Galway have been plagued by injuries since the outset of the year, but Kevin Walsh's team have still pocketed four victories.

That players such as John Daly and Antaine O'Laoi have contributed so handsomely in recent weeks merely adds to the encouragement.

TYRONE: Niall Morgan; Padraig Hampsey, Ronan McNamee, Hugh Pat McGeary; Tiernan McCann, Frank Burns, Ben McDonnell; Cathal McShane, Richie Donnelly; Mattie Donnelly, Niall Sludden, Conor Meyler; Connor McAliskey, Peter Harte, Kieran McGeary.

GALWAY: Ruairi Lavelle; Eoghan Kerin, Sean Andy O’Ceallaigh, David Wynne; Gary O’Donnell, John Daly, Gareth Bradshaw; Ciaran Duggan, Tom Flynn; Peter Cooke, Shane Walsh, Johnny Heaney; Danny Cummins, Michael Daly, Antaine O’Laoi

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions