Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG



Mayo cruise to All Ireland SFC Quarter Final replay win

Aidan O Shea was outstanding for Mayo against Roscommon.

Aidan O Shea was outstanding for Mayo against Roscommon.

All Ireland SFC Quarter-Final replay


By Cian O'Connell at Croke Park

What a difference a day makes. Up to now, the Mayo 2017 Championship journey has been all about surviving, but on this occasion the Green and Red thrived. Roscommon were dealing in damage limitation from the first quarter.

It was an utterly demoralising occasion for the Connacht Championship, who were blitzed by a pumped up Mayo outfit.

Even without the injured Lee Keegan Mayo quickly seized the initiative with Roscommon simply unable to cope against Stephen Rochford’s team.

The opening quarter belonged to Aidan O’Shea, who dictated the agenda as Mayo accumulated a 0-6 to 0-0 lead by the 16th minute.

Mayo were giving Roscommon a scary tutorial with Cillian O’Connor kicking the frees, while Jason Doherty and Kevin McLoughlin buzzed about craving involvement.

Roscommon responded briefly as Enda Smith and Sean Mullooly kicked fine points, but then Mayo administered the decisive blows.

Three goals were roofed in a brilliant and blistering five minute spell as McLoughlin (24), Andy Moran (25), and Keith Higgins (28) all rattled the Roscommon net.

Having cut the deficit to four, Roscommon suddenly trailed by 13. There was a streak of defiance shown by Roscommon as the interval approached with Diarmuid Murtagh contributing a couple of points.

Jason Doherty impressed for Mayo at Croke Park.

Jason Doherty impressed for Mayo at Croke Park.

At the opposite end, though, Aidan O‘Shea and Doherty found the range ensuring Mayo’s half-time cushion was 3-8 to 0-4. Worryingly for Roscommon, it could have been an even greater margin.

After the restart Mayo continued to torment Roscommon. Diarmuid Murtagh did supply a few nuggets of class for Roscommon, but Mayo were unperturbed.

A 45th minute O’Connor major added an extra layer of satisfaction for Mayo, who remained in the ascendancy.

Roscommon were reduced to 14 men when substitute Fintan Cregg was dismissed for a second bookable offence.

When Roscommon did register a score Mayo responded with two of their own. It was that sort of afternoon for Roscommon.

Mayo substitutes Shane Nally, David Drake, and Stephen Coen supplied scores, aware that an All Ireland SFC Semi-Final against Kerry is imminent on August 20. That will be a game worth monitoring; the Mayo adventure goes on.

Scorers for Mayo: Cillian O’Connor 1-6 (5fs), Andy Moran 1-1, Kevin McLoughlin and Keith Higgins 1-0 each, Jason Doherty, Aidan O’Shea, and Shane Nally 0-2 each, Diarmuid O’Connor, Chris Barrett, Tom Parsons, Donal Vaughan, David Drake, and Stephen Coen 0-1 each.

Scorers for Roscommon: Diarmuid Murtagh 0-4 (2fs), Enda Smith, Niall Kilroy, Conor Devaney, Sean Mullooly, and Donie Smith 0-1 each.

MAYO: David Clarke; Brendan Harrison, Chris Barrett, Paddy Durcan; Colm Boyle, Keith Higgins, Donal Vaughan; Seamus O’Shea, Tom Parsons; Kevin McLoughlin, Aidan O’Shea, Diarmuid O’Connor; Jason Doherty, Cillian O’Connor, Andy Moran.

**Subs: **Conor Loftus for Jason Doherty (46), David Drake for Kevin McLoughlin (56), Alan Dillon for Andy Moran (61), Stephen Coen for Donal Vaughan (61), Danny Kirby for Aidan O’Shea (62), Shane Nally for Chris Barrett (65).

ROSCOMMON: Colm Lavin; Seanie McDermott; Niall McInerney, David Murray; John McManus, Sean Mullooly, Brian Stack; Tadhg O’Rourke, Enda Smith; Caoileann Fitzmaurice, Niall Kilroy, Conor Devaney; Diarmuid Murtagh, Cathal Compton, Cian Connolly.

**Subs: **Gary Paterson for Seanie McDermott (HT), Fintan Cregg for Cathal Compton (HT), Ciarain Murtagh for Cian Connolly (HT), Donie Smith for Brian Stack (46), Ian Kilbride for Conor Devaney (60), Colin Compton for Enda Smith (62).

REFEREE: Anthony Nolan (Wicklow).

Related Items