Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Sean McCormack accepts the cup for Killoe after victory over Longford Slashers in the Longford SFC Final. 
Sean McCormack accepts the cup for Killoe after victory over Longford Slashers in the Longford SFC Final. 

Killoe crowned Longford SFC champions

Longford SFC Final


By Deniese O'Flaherty

A fisted point from Ronan McGoldrick saw Emmet Og crowned Longford Senior Football Champions for the first time since 2015 played in front of a crowd of over 3,500 at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park.

The excellent Daniel Mimnagh found McGoldrick in the dying seconds of the game and he made no mistake fisting the ball over the bar. Slashers had fought gallantly and a pointed free from Andrew Kelly in the second minute of time drew the game level with two minutes remaining.

It was a cagey opening between these two great rivals. In a tight first half Emmet Og were ahead by two points, on two occasions. Mark Hughes opened the scoring in the sixth minute but a pointed free from Andrew Kelly drew Slashers level.

The Killoe side were ahead by two in the 11th minute but Slashers replied with three points in a row to put them in front in the 24th minute. Mimnagh had a goal chance that went wide in the 25th minute. He levelled matters one minute later before a fine Simon Kiernan point gave them the lead going in at the break.

In what was an entertaining second half Killoe went ahead by three but Slashers replied with a ‘45 from goalkeeper Colm Farrell and a well struck free from Robbie Clarke. Cian Farrelly and Kelly (free) traded points before Killoe edged in front by two

Two fine frees from Kelly and Farrell drew Slashers level in the 57th minute. On 60 minutes Mimnagh gave Killoe the lead but there was still time for drama when another Andrew Kelly free drew matters level in the second minute of stoppage time.

Right on the fourth minute of stoppage time Mimnagh found Ronan McGoldrick and he calmly fisted the ball over the bar to help Killoe claim their 12th Longford SFC title.

Scorers for Emmet Og: S McCormack (f), D Mimnagh 0-03 each, R McGoldrick 0-02, S Kiernan, D McGoldrick, M Hughes, C Farrelly 0-01 each

Scorers for Longford Slashers: A Kelly 0-05 (5fs), Robbie Clarke 0-03 (1f), C Farrell 0-02 (‘45,1f), P Foy 0-01

Emmet Og: S Fitzpatrick; L Hughes, P McCormack, G Hughes; N Farrelly, M Quinn, R Moffett; R McGoldrick, S Kiernan; D McGoldrick, S McCormack, D Mimnagh; M Hughes, E Keogh, C Farrelly. Subs: C Dooner for Hughes (40), P Thompson for Kiernan and E Clarke for D McGoldrick (55), J Donnelly for Keogh (57)

Longford Slashers: C Farrell; R Kenny, B Gilleran, P Duggan; S Clarke, D Brady, G Flynn; P Foy, A Dalton; A Kelly, R Clarke, C Clarke; R Clarke, N Mulligan, R O’Connell. Subs: P Lynn for Mulligan (37), C Kavanagh for O’Connell (40), D O’Connell for Ruairi Clarke (59), D O’Brien for Foy (60), B Walsh for C Clarke (60+4)

Referee: P Maguire (St. Mary’s)

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions