Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Robert Finnerty scored six points for Salthill-Knocknacarra against Claregalway at Tuam Stadium.
Robert Finnerty scored six points for Salthill-Knocknacarra against Claregalway at Tuam Stadium.

Galway SFC QF: Salthill-Knocknacarra advance

Galway SFC Quarter-Final


By Cian O'Connell at Tuam Stadium

Gearoid Armstrong fisted over a last gasp winning point as Salthill-Knocknacarra advanced to the penultimate stage of the Galway SFC.

A tense Tuam Stadium encounter was ultimately decided by Armstrong’s late intervention ensuring Anthony Finnerty’s charges prevailed.

Salthill shaded the opening period, but an opportunistic goal on the stroke of half-time from Danny Cummins edged Claregalway 1-4 to 0-6 ahead.

Robert Finnerty replied with a Salthill-Knocknacarra point to leave the teams deadlocked at the break and the issue was delicately poised.

When the action recommenced Sean Moran, Conor Campbell, and Mark Rohan fired over points for a determined Claregalway outfit.

Salthill-Knocknacarra, though, remained cool with substitute Paddy Culhane and Finnerty sharp in attack.

In the 57th minute Finnerty guided Salthill-Knocknacarra back into the lead, but Claregalway’s Conor Flaherty responded with a delightful effort.

Extra-time appeared imminent, but Salthill-Knocknaccara crafted one final chance which was finished by Armstrong.

Scorers for Salthill-Knocknacarra: Robert Finnerty 0-6 (4fs), Gearoid Armstrong 0-3, Paddy Culhane (1f) and Ruairi Lavelle (2 45s) 0-2 each.

Scorers for Claregalway: Danny Cummins 1-1, Mark Rohan and Sean Moran (1f) 0-2 each, Conor Kelly, Conor Flaherty, Conor Campbell, and Barry Goldrick (f) 0-1 each.

SALTHILL-KNOCKNACARRA: Ruairi Lavelle; Eoin McFadden, David Connaughton, Ruaidhri McTiernan; Gearoid Armstrong, Finian Hanley, William Finnerty; John Meagher, Rob Butler; Cathal Sweeney, Seanie O’Leidhinn, Robert Walzer; Marcus MacDonnacha, Robert Finnerty, Eoghan Tinney.

Subs: Tom Considine for McTiernan (HT), Paddy Culhane for Walzer (36), Gavin Duffy for Considine (45), Aidan Halloran for Tinney (59).

CLAREGALWAY: Brian O’Donoghue; Matthew Kilgannon, Dylan Buckley, Stephen Cunniffe; Conor Campbell, Peter Divilly, Dara Whelan; Darren Hennessy, Conor Costello; Conor Kelly, Sean Moran, Brion Connolly; Mark Rohan, Barry Goldrick, Danny Cummins.

Subs: Jack Glynn for Divilly (HT), Jason Reilly for Hennessy (39), Conor Flaherty for Kelly (55).

REFEREE: Gerald Anthony Lohan.

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions