Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Ian Burke netted a first half goal for Corofin against Mountbellew-Moylough at Tuam Stadium.
Ian Burke netted a first half goal for Corofin against Mountbellew-Moylough at Tuam Stadium.

Galway SFC QF: Champions Corofin prove too strong

Galway SFC Quarter-Final


By Cian O'Connell at Tuam Stadium

Ultimately it was another one of those days when Corofin’s class and character proved decisive.

Mountbellew-Moylough had contested Galway Senior Finals against Corofin in 2017 and 2018 so they believed that the most prized club scalp of all could be taken.

Early on it became apparent that Corofin were primed for this contest which was perfectly illustrated by their efficient first half display.

By the interval Corofin had struck 1-6 from nine shots which compared most favourably with Mountbellew-Moylough’s 0-3 from 10 conversion rate.

When Gary Sice, Ronan Steede, and Jason Leonard (45) added Corofin points without minutes of the restart Mountbellew-Moylough’s mission had turned into limitation mode.

Mountbellew-Moylough were spirited until the death, but sufficient Corofin damage had already been inflicted.

Ian Burke’s 19th minute goal following a Liam Silke pass put Corofin 1-3 to 0-3 ahead with Micheal Lundy, Steede, and Sice mining points to leave the standard bearers six ahead at the turnaround.

The advantage was stretched to 1-11 to 0-4 in the 46th minute, but Mountbellew-Moylough summoned a response when Paul Donnellan bundled the ball into the back of the Corofin net.

Joe Bergin’s introduction aided the Mountbellew-Moylough considerably with the underdogs suddenly posing questions in the closing stages.

Barry McHugh was kicking the frees impressively as Mountellew-Moylough cut the gap down to four prior to a Martin Farragher effort.

Then Corofin custodian Bernard Power made a remarkable save to deny Barry McHugh in the dying embers and the champions’ passage into the last four in Galway was secured.

Scorers for Corofin: Gary Sice 0-4 (2fs), Ian Burke 1-0, Jason Leonard 0-3 (1 45, 1f), Ronan Steede 0-2, Conor Cunningham, Martin Farragher, Liam Silke, Dylan Wall, Michael Farragher, Kieran Fitzgerald, Micheal Lundy 0-1 each.

Scorers for Mountbellew-Moylough: Barry McHugh 0-7 (5fs, 145), Paul Donnellan 1-0, Eoin Finnerty 0-2, Joe Bergin 0-1.

COROFIN: Bernard Power; Kieran Fitzgerald, Ciaran McGrath, Ross Mahon; Dylan McHugh, Liam Silke, Conor Cunningham; Kieran Molloy, Ronan Steede; Micheal Lundy, Dylan Wall, Jason Leonard; Ian Burke, Gary Sice, Martin Farragher.

Subs: Michael Farragher for Lundy (43), Darragh Silke for Sice (48), Gavin Burke for Cunningham (55), Conor Newell for Wall (55-60, blood).

MOUNTBELLEW-MOYLOUGH: Damien Boyle; Aaron McHugh, John Daly, James Foley; Paul Donnellan, Gary Sweeney, Leo Donnellan; Matthew Barrett, Michael Daly; Mark Mannion, Eoin Finnerty, Colm Mannion; Andy Barrett, Cathal Kenny, Barry McHugh.

Subs: Noel McDonagh for A McHugh (28), Joe Bergin for M Barrett (HT), Patrick Kelly for A Barrett (HT), Colin Ryan for Kenny (46), Billy Mannion for C Mannion (60).

REFEREE: Gerry Kinneavy.

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions