Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG



Galway defeat Sligo in Connacht FBD League

Adrian Varley kicked three points for Galway against Sligo at the Connacht GAA Centre of Excellence.

Adrian Varley kicked three points for Galway against Sligo at the Connacht GAA Centre of Excellence.

Connacht FBD League

GALWAY 1-12 SLIGO 0-11

By Cian O'Connell at the Connacht GAA Centre of Excellence

Despite the difficult conditions Galway and Sligo produced a lively encounter with Kevin Walsh’s charges earning the Connacht FBD League spoils in Bekan.

Though the wind howled furiously Galway, prompted by Sean Kelly’s goal, held off an Adrian Marren inspired Sligo to secure a deserved victory.

Backed by a gale Galway showed a real willingness to move the ball fast and quick inside with Patrick Sweeney prominent at full-forward.

Frankie Burke and Adrian Varley also clipped points, while Peter Cooke was sharp from frees drilling over three for Galway in the first half.

Johnny Duane’s deliveries from deep were crisp as Galway searched for scores grabbing a 27th minute goal.

Cooke’s pass located Moycullen colleague Sean Kelly, who provided an ice cool finish with Galway departing 1-7 to 0-5 ahead at the turnaround.

After the restart Adrian Marren, who had shown well in the opening period too, continued to pinch fine points, but Galway were doing enough damage at the opposite end.

While Galway weren’t as clinical in the second half Kevin Walsh’s team were never seriously troubled following two efforts from substitute Dessie Conneely and Robert Finnerty (free).

Meanwhile, at the Leitrim GAA Centre of Excellence Roscommon proved far too strong for the home team emerging 2-14 to 1-3 victors.

Kevin McStay's outfit led by 2-6 to 0-2 at the interval following goals from Finbar Cregg and Diarmuid Murtagh.

Brendan Gallagher converted a late penalty for Leitrim, who were well beaten by Roscommon.

Scorers for Galway: Peter Cooke 0-4 (4fs), Sean Kelly 1-0, Adrian Varley 0-3, Frankie Burke 0-2, Patrick Sweeney, Dessie Conneely and Robert Finnerty (f) 0-1 each.

**Scorers for Sligo: **Adrian Marren 0-8 (4fs, 145), Darragh Cummins, Finian Cawley, and Sean Carrabine 0-1 each.

**GALWAY: **Ronan O’Beolain; Gareth Bradshaw, Sean Andy O’Ceallaigh, Evan Wynne; Cathal Sweeney, Johnny Duane, David Wynne; Tom Flynn, Ciaran Duggan; John Maher, Peter Cooke, Sean Kelly; Frankie Burke, Patrick Sweeney, Adrian Varley.

**Subs: **Eamon Brannigan for Sean Andy O’Ceallaigh (20, BC), Robert Finnerty for Adrian Varley (52), Dessie Conneely for Frankie Burke (55), Paul Conroy for Ciaran Duggan (60), Padraic Cunningham for Patrick Sweeney (65), Frankie Burke for David Wynne (70, BC).

SLIGO: Aidan Devaney; Eoin McHugh, Eddie McGuinness, Mikey Gordon; Keelan Cawley, Darragh Cummins, Gerard O’Kelly-Lynch; Patrick O’Connor, Paul Kilcoyne; Neil Ewing, Finian Cawley, Jodie O’Reilly; Adrian Marren, Pat Hughes, Sean Carrabine.

Subs: Paul McNamara for Keelan Cawley (19, BC), Kevin Henry for Paul Kilcoyne (HT), Nathan Mullen for Jodie O’Reilly (HT), Ger Brady for Darragh Cummins (52), James Clarke for Patrick O’Connor (62), Peter Laffey for Pat Hughes (68).

REFEREE: Jerome Henry (Mayo).