Brian Fenton, Ciaran Kilkenny, and James McCarthy have been nominated.

Brian Fenton, Ciaran Kilkenny, and James McCarthy have been nominated.

GAA/GPA Opel Football All-Stars nominations

The GAA, GPA and Opel are pleased to confirm the nominations for the 2016 All-Star football awards with recent All-Ireland finalists Dublin and Mayo receiving 11 nominations each.

The two counties top the poll after a selection meeting in Croke Park yesterday agreed on the distinguished group of 45 names who will form the shortlist for this year’s prestigious awards.

Dublin’s back-to-back winning captain Stephen Cluxton is nominated having missed out last year when the Dubs also received 11 nominations.

Mayo’s David Clarke is also nominated for the goalkeeping All-Star position with the defeated All-Ireland finalists achieving the feat of having six defenders listed among the nominees.

Elsewhere, Clare midfielder Gary Brennan is rewarded for his prominent role in the Banner’s march to the All-Ireland quarter finals by being included in the competitive six-man shortlist for a midfield award. He is Clare’s first footballer to be nominated for an All-Star since 1997 when defender Frankie Griffin and forward Martin Daly were nominated.

In all, there are eight counties listed with the following breakdown: Dublin 11; Mayo 11; Tyrone 6; Tipperary 5; Kerry 4; Galway 4; Donegal 3; Clare 1.

The nominees for the Player of the Year have also been decided with Mayo’s Lee Keegan joining Dublin’s Brian Fenton and Ciarán Kilkenny on the three-man list of nominees.

Young Player of the Year will be decided between Mayo’s Diarmuid O’Connor and Tipperary’s Josh Keane and Jimmy Feehan.

The GAA GPA Opel All-Star team will be selected next month by a panel of national Gaelic Games Correspondents. The Players of the Year awards will be voted upon by the players themselves.

The awards will be presented at a special banquet in Dublin’s Convention Centre on Friday, November 4, 2016.


  1. Evan Comerford (Tipperary)

  2. Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

  3. David Clarke (Mayo)


  1. Jonny Cooper (Dublin)

  2. Brendan Harrison (Mayo)

  3. Keith Higgins (Mayo)

  4. Cian O’Sullivan (Dublin)

  5. Lee Keegan (Mayo)

  6. Colm Boyle (Mayo)

  7. Philly McMahon (Dublin)

  8. Ryan McHugh (Donegal)

  9. Cathal McCarron (Tyrone)

  10. John Small (Dublin)

  11. Patrick Durcan (Mayo)

  12. Shane Enright (Kerry)

  13. Declan Kyne (Galway)

  14. James McCarthy (Dublin)

  15. Kevin McLoughlin (Mayo)

  16. Paddy McGrath (Donegal)

  17. Robbie Kiely (Tipperary)

  18. Killian Young (Kerry)


  1. Brian Fenton (Dublin)

  2. Peter Acheson (Tipperary)

  3. Matthew Donnelly (Tyrone)

  4. Gary Brennan (Clare)

  5. Paul Conroy (Galway)

  6. Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone)


  1. Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)

  2. Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin)

  3. Dean Rock (Dublin)

  4. Kevin McManamon (Dublin)

  5. Paul Geaney (Kerry)

  6. Michael Quinlivan (Tipperary)

  7. Andy Moran (Mayo)

  8. Conor Sweeney (Tipperary)

  9. Aidan O’Shea (Mayo)

  10. Paul Murphy (Kerry)

  11. Cillian O’Connor (Mayo)

  12. Damien Comer (Galway)

  13. Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo)

  14. Peter Harte (Tyrone)

  15. Danny Cummins (Galway)

  16. Patrick McBrearty (Donegal)

  17. Seán Cavanagh (Tyrone)

  18. Niall Sludden (Tyrone)

Player of the Year Nominees

  1. Brian Fenton (Dublin) 2. Lee Keegan (Mayo) 3. Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)

Young Player of the Year Nominees

  1. Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo) 2. Josh Keane (Tipperary) 3. Jimmy Feehan (Tipperary)