Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Dublin's Ross McGarry and Wexford's Ciaran Kavanagh in EirGrid Leinster Under 20 Football Championship action at Parnell Park.
Dublin's Ross McGarry and Wexford's Ciaran Kavanagh in EirGrid Leinster Under 20 Football Championship action at Parnell Park.

EirGrid Leinster U20: Dublin cruise to victory

Eirgrid Leinster U-20 Football Championship Semi-Final


By Paul Keane at Parnell Park, Dublin

Ciaran Archer led the line superbly again for Dublin as the hot favourites lived up to their billing with a big Eirgrid Leinster U-20 semi-final win at Parnell Park.

Fresh from their 26-point win over Longford, Tom Gray's slick side burned off Wexford with ease to secure a provincial final place on Friday week.

Archer was their inspiration against Longford and it was his goal early in the second-half here, and 1-8 haul, that went a long way to securing the win.

Ross McGarry and James Doran were powerful and purposeful for the Dubs too as they moved confidently through to the decider.

It was tough on Wexford who only really got going in the final 20 minutes or so having pulled off impressive wins over Wicklow and Louth to reach this stage.

The hosts laid siege to Wexford's goal for large portions of the game and led 0-9 to 0-2 at half-time. That margin would have been far greater but for Dublin's wasteful play in front of the goals.

They registered 10 first-half wides - and 12 in total - as they struggled to turn their possession into points at the golf club end of the ground.

Still, Dublin were never troubled and looked well placed to push on and secure their final place after moving 0-4 to 0-0 clear inside 12 minutes.

Wexford's opening score didn't arrive until the 14th minute though it was admittedly a beauty from Sean Nolan who sliced a right footed kick over from the right wing.

Those inspirational moments were fleeting from a Wexford perspective and their only other point in the half came from a Jamie Myler free.

Dublin had five different first-half scorers in total with Archer converting four frees.

Archer then grabbed a goal within 15 seconds of the restart as he capitalised on a powerful run through the middle from Donal Ryan before firing low to the net.

Further Archer points and one from Ross McGarry left Dublin sitting pretty with a 1-12 to 0-2 advantage after 40 minutes.

Dublin ran in their full allocation of substitutes in the closing stages while Wexford improved slightly with points from Michael Molloy, Darragh Brooks and Ciarn Kavanagh providing some consolation.

Scorers for Dublin: Ciaran Archer 1-8 (7fs), James Doran 0-2, Ross McGarry 0-2 (1f), Brian O'Leary 0-2, Niall O'Leary 0-2, Conor Kinsella 0-1.

Scorers for Wexford: Michael Molloy 0-2, Jamie Myler 0-1 (f), Darragh Brooks 0-1 (f), Sean Nolan 0-1, Ciaran Kavanagh 0-1.

DUBLIN: David O'Hanlon; Eoin O'Dea, Daire Newcombe, Darren Maher; Kieran Kennedy, Neil Matthews, Sean Lambe; Peadar O Cofaigh Byrne, Donal Ryan; Niall O'Leary, Karl Lynch Bissett, James Doran; Brian O'Leary, Ciaran Archer, Ross McGarry.

Subs: Kieran McKeon for McGarry (40), David Lacey for Lynch Bissett (48), Conor Kinsella for Matthews (48), Aaron Lynch for O'Dea (54), Sean Farrelly for O Cofaigh Byrne (56), Evan Caulfield for N O'Leary (58).

WEXFORD: Darragh Brooks; Killian Pierce, Gavin Sheehan, Liam O'Connor; Byron Byrne, Adam Hogan, Enda Minogue; Ben Maddock, Liam Coleman; Dylan McVeigh, Jamie Myler, Sean Nolan; Michael Molloy, Sean Forde, Ciaran Kavanagh.

Subs: Cathal Kirwan for Hogan (h/t), James Kelly for McVeigh (h/t), Peter Kelly for Forde (50), Michael Kinsella for Byrne (56), Jamie Kavanagh for Minogue (61), Philip Dempsey for Pierce (61).

Referee: Cormac Reilly (Meath).

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions