Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Gary Sice bagged a brilliant first half goal for Corofin.

Gary Sice bagged a brilliant first half goal for Corofin.

Classy Corofin win AIB All Ireland Club title

AIB All Ireland Club Football Final


By Cian O'Connell at Croke Park

These are glorious times for Corofin, who captured a second AIB All Ireland title in four years at Croke Park.

A fluid first half display laced with quality scores and top class football ensured Corofin went in at the break armed with a significant 2-9 to 0-5 cushion.

That Corofin struck 2-9 from 13 chances perfectly illustrated their attacking strengths, but the Galway side had crafty contributors dotted around the pitch.

Moving the ball at speed Corofin commenced the contest with intent mining 1-1 without reply inside the opening seven minutes.

Both scores arrived courtesy of Gary Sice’s sweet left peg as the Connacht standard bearers sought to set the agenda.

The seventh minute goal was a real beauty with Martin Farragher and Ian Burke crafting an opportunity which Sice converted with considerable class.

Nemo were scrambling to stay afloat with Corofin dictating the tone and tempo enabling Kevin O’Brien’s team to lead 1-3 to 0-1 at the end of the first quarter.

Further splendid points were added by Martin Farragher, Micheal Lundy, and Sice (free) for a Corofin outfit that was primed for this encounter.

Then another delightful Corofin passage concluded with a Michael Farragher goal in the 20th minute as Corofin powered 2-6 to 0-1 ahead.

There was a rally before the break from Nemo, who did hit four of the next seven points, but Corofin still led by 10 at the turnaround. It was a commanding advantage.

Nemo required early second half scores, but Corofin’s Martin Farragher continued to pose a potent threat drilling two immaculate points.

Amazingly Nemo were merely limiting the damage, a triple substitution was made in an effort to disturb Corofin’s sheer supremacy.

Martin Farragher was causing Nemo significant bother and while Connolly did clip a couple of scores at the other end it scarcely mattered.

Every Nemo point was met by a substantial Corofin reply with the Farragher brothers, Michael and Martin, guiding them 2-14 to 0-8 clear.

There was little wrong with Nemo’s attitude or application, but Corofin closed the deal with the minimum of fuss. It was a display which blended substance and style.

*Scorers for Corofin: *Gary Sice 1-4 (2fs), Martin Farragher 0-6, Michael Farragher 1-1, Dylan Wall, Ian Burke, and Daithi Burke 0-2 each, Micheal Lundy and Jason Leonard 0-1 each

Scorers for Nemo Rangers: Luke Connolly 0-6 (4fs), Paddy Gumley, Paul Kerrigan, Ciaran O’Shea, and Jack Donovan 0-1 each.

COROFIN: Bernard Power; Cathal Silke, Liam Silke, Kieran Fitzgerald; Ciaran McGrath, Dylan Wall, Kieran Molloy; Daithi Burke, Ronan Steede; Micheal Lundy, Gary Sice, Jason Leonard; Ian Burke, Martin Farragher, Michael Farragher.

Subs: Conor Cunningham for Kieran Molloy (45), Colin Brady for Lundy (49), Barry O’Donovan for Leonard (56), Dylan McHugh for Cathal Silke (56), Ciaran Brady for Daithi Burke (59), Dylan Canney for Martin Farragher (60).

NEMO RANGERS: Micheal Aodh Martin; Kevin O’Donovan, Aidan O’Reilly, Alan Cronin; Tomas O Se, Stephen Cronin, Kevin Fulignati; Alan O’Donovan, Jack Horgan; Barry O’Driscoll, Paul Kerrigan, Colin O’Brien; Paddy Gumley, Luke Connolly, Ciaran Dalton.

*Subs: *Conor Horgan for Gumley (38), Michael Dorgan for Horgan (38), Jack Donavan for O’Se (38), Colm Kelly for Dalton (48), Ciaran O Shea for Fulignati (53).

REFEREE: David Gough (Meath).

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions