Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Diarmuid Murtagh

Diarmuid Murtagh

Allianz FL D2: Roscommon comeback floors Tipp

Allianz Football League Division 2


By John Fallon at Semple Stadium

Roscommon are becoming the comeback kings of this year’s Allianz League but even the most fervent of their supporters in the crowd of 2,344 could hardly have seen them rescue this one.

Last weekend they came from four points down in stoppage time to force a draw with Meath, but they surpassed that rally this time round.

Tipperary seemed poised for their second win of the campaign when they led by 3-9 to 0-12 with just five minutes of regular time remaining.

But the never-say-die spirit of Kevin McStay’s men kicked in, with a goal from Diarmuid Murtagh giving them real hope.

Niall Daly and Diarmuid Murtagh found the target to level the match deep into stoppage time and they didn’t settle for the draw.

Captain Conor Devaney showed great leadership to go forward and kick them in front in the fourth minute of stoppage time and Donie Smith doubled the lead moments later to seal a dramatic win.

Earlier, Tipperary led by 1-6 to 0-6 at the break, with Conor Sweeney getting the goal from a penalty after 20 minutes when Michael Quinlivan was fouled.

That levelled the match as Roscommon were hauled back after a bright start.

The sides twice exchanged points in the opening ten minutes before Kevin McStay’s men pulled ahead with points from Ciarain Murtagh, Ciaran Lennon and Diarmuid Murtagh.

Liam McGrath edged Tipperary in front with.a 25th minute penalty and efforts from Liam Casey and Sweeney put them a goal to the good approaching the break.

Niall Kilroy ended a barren Roscommon spell when he got their first point in 16 minutes, but Tipperary finished the half on the front foot and another Sweeney free left them leading by 1-6 to 0-6 at the interval.

Quinlivan rattled the Roscommon crossbar just 15 seconds after the restart and while Fergal Lennon went downfield and pointed, it was Tipperary who increased their lead.

Jack Kennedy pointed a free from the left wing and then Sweeney slotted home his second penalty when Brian Fox was fouled.

He quickly added a point to lead by 2-8 to 0-7 and while Roscommon rallied, a magnificent goal from Quinlivan after he soloed through looked set to be enough for Tipperary to claim the points.

But Roscommon had other ideas and moved into promotion contention when they pushed on to win in dramatic fashion.

Scorers for Roscommon: Diarmuid Murtagh 1-4 (0-3f), Ciaráin Murtagh 0-3 (0-3f), Niall Kilroy 0-2, Donie Smith 0-2 (0-1 sideline), Conor Devaney 0-2, Fergal Lennon 0-1, Fintan Cregg 0-1, Niall Daly 0-1, Ciaran Lennon 0-1.

Scorers for Tipperary: Conor Sweeney 2-4 (2-0 pen, 0-2f), Michael Quinlivan 1-0, Liam McGrath 0-2 (0-1f), Liam Casey 0-1, Jack Kennedy 0-1 (0-1f), Liam Boland 0-1.

ROSCOMMON: Colm Lavin; David Murray, John McManus, Niall McInerney; Fergal Lennon, Sean Mullooly, Conor Devaney; Tadhg O’Rourke, Enda Smith; Niall Daly, Niall Kilroy, Fintan Cregg; Diarmuid Murtagh, Ciaran Lennon, Ciaráin Murtagh. *Subs: *Brian Stack for Fintan Cregg (31), Finbar Cregg for Mullooly (46), Donie Smith for Ciaráin Murtagh (53), Ian Kilbride for O’Rourke (55), Conor Daly for Enda Smith (60), Ronan Daly for Fergal Lennon (65).

TIPPERARY: *Evan Comerford; Shane O’Connell, John Meagher, Alan Campbell; Bill Maher, Robbie Kiely, Jimmy Feehan; Liam Casey, Steven O’Brien; Josh Keane, Jack Kennedy, Brian Fox; Conor Sweeney, Michael Quinlivan, Liam McGrath. *Subs: Liam Boland for McGrath (57), Kevin Fahey for Kennedy (62), George Hannigan for Casey (67).

*Referee: *Noel Mooney (Cavan)

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions