Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Ciaran Deely's London team defeated Wexford at McGovern Park, Ruislip.
Ciaran Deely's London team defeated Wexford at McGovern Park, Ruislip.

Allianz FL D4: Leitrim, Derry, London, and Wicklow triumph

Allianz Football League Division Four





Leitrim and Derry maintained their unbeaten start to the Allianz NFL Division 4 to open up a two-point gap at the top of the standings.

Leitrim left it late to secure their third win of the season but Domhnaill Flynn’s free in added-time earned them a one-point victory at Paric Sean MacDiarmada. Patrick McBride’s free had drawn Antrim level moments earlier, but after 74 minutes the Leitrim man slotted the winner.

A fourth minute Ryan Murray goal had given Antrim a great start in Carrick on Shannon after Ryan O’Rouke and Jack Heslin had earlier pointed for Leitrim. When Ryan Murray pointed for Antrim they led by five points and it didn’t look good for the home side, but they finished the half strongly and only trailed by 1-6 to 0-6 at the interval.

Leitrim started the second period brightly thanks to Rayan O’Rourke and Darragh Rooney, but it took until the 56th minute for Leitrim to pull level when Rooney scored again. The sides exchanged points from there to the end, but Flynn stepped up to land the pressure kick at the death as Leitrim continue to impress.

Derry also made it three wins from three as their long road trip to Waterford ended in a convincing seven-point success.

Sean Whelan Barrett hit the net for Waterford after 12 minutes and Conor Murray’s point pushed them three points clear, but Derry stayed in contention and Shane McGuigan’s goal helped them to draw level at half-time in Fraher Field, 1-5 each.

Karl McKaigue put Derry ahead for just the second time in the game after the restart, but Jason Curry kept Waterford in contention as they went in search of their first win of the competition.

And finally Derry struck for home when Paul McNeill scored from close range in the closing stages, while McGuigan’s point sealed the win.

Limerick fell to their first loss in this year’s league, as they were well beaten by Wicklow at Aughrim.

In the end the home side had five potins to spare over Billy Lee’s side and it was Theo Smith’s late goal that finally settled this contest.

In a low scoring first-half Wicklow led 0-6 to 0-3 with Chris O’Brein and Smith on target, but after the restart it looked as if Limerick were on the road to victory when Seamus O’Carroll goaled for them midway though the second half, but O’Brien hit back with a lead goal for Wicklow and Smith secured victory.

London also claimed their first victory of the competition and delivered a second loss to Wexford thanks to a storming second-half performance.

Goals from Killian Butler and Ciaran Houlihan proved enough for London, who had trailed by 0-6 to 0-5 at the interval in Ruislip.

Wexford will be disappointed to only add two points to their total in the second period, but for London it was a deserved win.

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions