Dean Rock and Lee Keegan shake hands after the game.

Dean Rock and Lee Keegan shake hands after the game.

Allianz FL D1: Dublin too strong in Castlebar

Allianz Football League Division One

DUBLIN 2-10 MAYO 0-12

Inspired by goals from Paul Mannion and Niall Scully, Dublin claimed a fourth straight Allianz Football League victory in the west.

Jim Gavin’s team delivered another assured display with Dean Rock accurate in attack throughout the evening.

At the opposite end of the field Mayo squandered a string of kickable frees, but Dublin controlled the majority of this contest.

Kilmacud Crokes clubman Mannion drilled an immaculate shot into the roof of the Mayo net as the All Ireland champions started brightly.

Mayo, though, were competitive in the opening period with Lee Keegan, a surprise inclusion, venturing forward to clip a fine point.

Still by the time the interval came around Dublin led by 1-9 to 0-7 in front of 15, 313 passionate spectators in Castlebar.

After the restart Mayo could have narrowed the gap, but Adam Gallagher dragged a goal opportunity wide.

When Scully palmed a 46th minute goal following sharp play by the effective Rock, Dublin were firmly in command.

In the closing stages Mayo did narrow the gap with substitute Conor Loftus kicking three frees late on, but Dublin were never seriously troubled.

Michael Fitzsimons was sent off for a second bookable offence in stoppage time, but Dublin maintained their unbeaten start in the competition.

Next Saturday evening at Croke Park Dublin host Kerry in what promises to be an intriguing encounter at GAA headquarters.

Mayo, who have lost three of their four encounters thus far, travel to Newbridge for a crucial relegation battle against Kildare.

*Scorers for Dublin: *Dean Rock 0-6 (4fs), Paul Mannion 1-1, Niall Scully 1-0, Ciaran Kilkenny 0-2, Brian Fenton 0-1.

*Scorers for Mayo: *Conor Loftus 0-3 (3fs), Jason Doherty 0-3 (3fs), Kevin McLoughlin 0-2, Stephen Coen 0-1, Andy Moran 0-1, Lee Keegan, Rob Hennelly 0-1 (f).

DUBLIN: Stephen Cluxton; Darren Daly, Michael Fitzsimons, David Byrne; James McCarthy, Jonny Cooper, John Small; Michael Darragh MacAuley, Brian Fenton; Brian Howard, Ciaran Kilkenny, Niall Scully; Paul Mannion, Dean Rock, Kevin McManamon.

Subs: Diarmuid Connolly for Kilkenny, Cian O’Sullivan for MacAuley, Colm Basquel for Mannion, Ciaran Reddin for Howard, Paddy Small for Cooper.

MAYO: Rob Hennelly; Caolan Crowe, Ger Cafferkey, Eoin O’Donoghue; Colm Boyle, Lee Keegan, Michael Hall; Stephen Coen, Aidan O’Shea; Kevin McLoughlin, David Drake, Diarmuid O’Connor; Jason Doherty, Andy Moran, Adam Gallagher.

Subs: Fergal Boland for O’Connor, Conor Loftus for McLoughlin, Danny Kirby for Doherty, Seamus O’Shea for Gallagher, Sharoize Akram for Drake.

REFEREE: Paddy Neilan (Roscommon).