Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG



Allianz FL D1: Dublin crush Mayo

Michael Darragh MacAuley

Michael Darragh MacAuley

Allianz Football League Division 1

DUBLIN 1-16 MAYO 0-7

By Paul Keane at Croke Park

Conor McHugh and Dean Rock did the damage for Dublin as the All-Ireland champions extended their impressive unbeaten streak to 33 games, ensuring there'd be no Croke Park revenge for Mayo.

McHugh helped himself to 1-3 on just his third league start for the Sky Blues while free-taker Rock fired eight points in what was Dublin's second win of the campaign following back to back draws.

Philly McMahon also hit 0-2 and was named Man of the Match as Dublin easily repeated their All-Ireland final replay win of last October.

The result leaves Dublin in a strong position in the table while Mayo still have four points and could yet bounce back to meet Dublin in the final.

Stephen Rochford's side came into the contest in strong form after bouncing back from their opening round loss to Monaghan with big wins over Kerry and Roscommon.

But they were surprisingly held two just two points for the entire first-half and didn't hit their first point from open play until the 39th minute.

Dublin goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton did pull off two separate saves though Mayo were generally poor in front of goals and kicked several dispiriting wides.

Jim Gavin's Dubs were far more efficient at the other end and McHugh, starting back to back league games for the first time in his career, helped himself to 1-1 inside eight minutes.

His goal came from a mistake in the Mayo defence when David Clarke's kick-out was intercepted and worked back in to Ciaran Kilkenny who hand passed across to McHugh to palm in.

McMahon and Rock added three first-half points between them to leave the hosts and holders 1-5 to 0-2 up at the interval and sitting pretty.

They could have been further clear because Eoghan O'Gara was wild with two goal attempts, blazing the first wide and the second across the face of the goals and out for a sideline kick under the Cusack Stand.

Michael Darragh Macauley also had a goal ruled out for striking the ball on the ground with his fist.

It was a fractious affair at times too which was no surprise given the history between the teams and there were a number of skirmishes in the opening half.

Dublin bossed the second-half and Rock added six more points, four from play, to pile the misery on a Mayo side without both Aidan and Seamus O'Shea.

Rock was also pulled down in the 48th minute for a penalty that substitute Paddy Andrews failed to convert and two subsequent shots from Andrews were also blocked.

But it hardly mattered in the overall scheme of things as Dublin continued to score at their leisure and sub Paul Flynn boomed over an eye catching score to close out the scoring.

**Scorers for Dublin: **Dean Rock 0-8 (6f), Conor McHugh 1-3, Philly McMahon 0-2, Eric Lowndes 0-2, Paul Flynn 0-1.

Scorers for Mayo: Cillian O'Connor 0-2 (2 45), Evan Regan 0-2 (2f), Stephen Coen 0-1, Tom Parsons 0-1, Colm Boyle 0-1.

**DUBLIN: **Stephen Cluxton; Philly McMahon, Michael Fitzsimons, David Byrne; Darren Daly, John Small, Eric Lowndes; Brian Fenton, Michael Darragh Macauley; Niall Scully, Ciaran Kilkenny, Shane B. Carthy; Dean Rock, Eoghan O'Gara, Conor McHugh.

**Subs: **Paddy Andrews for O'Gara (46), Paul Flynn for Carthy (51), Kevin McManamon for McHugh (55), Ciaran Reddin for Byrne (65), Emmet O Conghaile for Fenton (70), Conor Mullally for Small (71).

**MAYO: **David Clarke; Patrick Durcan, Lee Keegan, Keith Higgins; Colm Boyle, Stephen Coen, Donal Vaughan; Jason Gibbons, Tom Parsons; Fergal Boland, Kevin McLoughlin, Diarmuid O'Connor; Evan Regan, Cillian O'Connor, Andy Moran.

**Subs: **Conor Loftus for Cillian O'Connor (22-27), Brendan Harrison for Gibbons (h/t), Shane Nally for Vaughan (51, black card), Conor O'Shea for Moran (54), Loftus for Diarmuid O'Connor (63), David Kirby for Boland (66).

Ref: David Coldrick (Meath).