Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Cork v Cavan - Allianz Football League Division 2 Round 4

25 February 2018; Thomas Galligan of Cavan has his shot blocked by Ruairi Deane of Cork during the Allianz Football League Division 2 Round 4 match between Cork and Cavan at Páirc Uí Chaoimh in Cork. Photo by Eóin Noonan/Sportsfile

Allianz FL D2: Cavan remain unbeaten

Allianz Football League Division 2

CAVAN 0-14 CORK 0-11

By Denis Hurley at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Cavan hold a healthy lead at the top of Division 2 after a commanding performance helped them see off Cork in Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Sunday afternoon.

Already the only undefeated side in the second tier, Cavan had 11 scorers as they only trailed on two occasions.

Cork had the opening score, a Colm O’Neill 45 in the third minute, but it didn’t prove to be an accurate indicator of the opening stages or the first half as a whole.

Cavan replied with scores from Oisín Kiernan, Ciarán Brady and Caoimhín O’Reilly and they should have forged more of a lead as poor shooting proved costly.

The home side found a bit of a groove, with Seán White scoring two points to bring them level, the latter a good example of directly play as Mark Collins and Colm O’Neill linked well. In Dara McVeety, Cavan a had a good exponent of driving runs and it was he who was fouled for a free in the 18th minute, converted by Bryan Magee to put them back in front.

The game was tied at 0-4 each on 20 as Jamie O’Sullivan and Kevin Flahive linked to set up Mark Collins, and then Collins provided the assist for centre-back Brian Hurley to put them ahead, but they wouldn’t score for the remaining 13 minutes plus stoppages.

In contrast, Cavan reeled off five points, the run started by McVeety’s good individual score before Conor Moynagh restored the lead.

Killian Clarke made it 0-7 to 0-5 as they got on top at midfield and O’Reilly added a pair of points before the break to provide Mattie McGleenan’s side with a four-point interval lead.

Four minutes into the second half, the Breffni County had a great chance to expand that advantage to seven points as McVeety’s pass afforded Conor Moynagh a view of goal but he dragged a low shot wide of Anthony Casey’s left-hand post. Nevertheless, Adrian Cole was on hand to make it 0-10 to 0-5 and though Cork had made four half-time substitutions, they couldn’t effect a change in the pattern of the game.

One of those replacements, John O’Rourke, did score two points while a later sub, Stephen Sherlock, made his presence felt on the scoreboard too, but Cavan always had enough wherewithal to keep their hosts at arm’s length.

While Tomás Clancy did bring Cork back to within three points, a Cavan goal looked likelier, with Thomas Galligan and Martin Reilly both denied by late goal-line clearances.

*Scorers for Cavan: *Caoimhín O’Reilly 0-3 (0-2 frees), Adrian Cole 0-2, Conor Moynagh, Bryan Magee (free), Killian Clarke, Dara McVeety, Gearóid McKiernan, Cian Mackey (free), Enda Flanagan, Ciarán Brady, Oisín Kiernan 0-1 each.

*Scorers for Cork: *Seán White, Mark Collins, John O’Rourke, Stephen Sherlock 0-2 each, Colm O’Neill (45), Tomás Clancy, Brian O’Driscoll 0-1 each.

CAVAN: James Farrelly (Kingscourt); David Phillips (Gowna), Pádriag Faulkner (Kingscourt), Jason McLoughlin (Shannon Gaels); Martin Reilly (Killygarry), Ciarán Brady (Arvagh), Enda Flanagan (Castlerahan); Bryan Magee (Cúchulainn), Killian Clarke (Shercock); Niall Clerkin (Shercock), Conor Moynagh (Drumgoon), Oisín Kiernan (Castlerahan); Dara McVeety (Crosserlough), Adrian Cole (Ramor United), Caoimhín O’Reilly (Butlersbridge). Subs: Gearóid McKiernan (Swanlibar) for Clerkin (half-time), Stephen Murray (Cavan Gaels) for Moynagh (46), Cian Mackey (Casterahan) for O’Reilly (49), Thomas Galligan (Lacken) for Magee (60), David Brady (Ballyhaise) for Cole (62), Conor Brady (Gowna) for Ciarán Brady (70, black card).

CORK: Anthony Casey (Kiskeam); Sam Ryan (St Finbarr’s), Jamie O’Sullivan (Bishopstown), Micheál McSweeney (Newcestown); Kevin Crowley (Millstreet), Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh), Tomás Clancy (Fermoy); Ian Maguire (St Finbarr’s), Killian O’Hanlon (Kilshannig); Kevin Flahive (Douglas), Seán White (Clonakilty), Ruairí Deane (Bantry Blues); Michael Hurley (Castlehaven), Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough), Mark Collins (Castlehaven). Subs: Kevin O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh) for Ryan, Cian Kiely (Ballincollig) for Crowley, Matthew Taylor (Mallow) for Brian O’Driscoll, John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers) for Hurley (all half-time), Cian Dorgan (Ballincollig) for O’Hanlon (55), Stephen Sherlock for O’Neill (60).

*Referee: *David Coldrick (Meath)


Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions