Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
2016 AIB Leinster Senior Club Football Champions, St Vincents.

2016 AIB Leinster Senior Club Football Champions, St Vincents.

AIB Leinster SFC Final: Classy Vincent's triumph

AIB Leinster Club SFC Final

St Vincent’s (Dublin) 1-16 Rhode (Offaly) 0-12

Inspired by an early Diarmuid Connolly goal, St Vincent’s produced a solid display to regain the AIB Leinster Club SFC at O’Moore Park.

Offaly champions Rhode were spirited throughout, but St Vincent’s excellent forward line impressed at the Portlaoise venue.

Connolly registered 1-2 when it truly mattered initially, while Gavin Burke, Tomas Quinn, and Enda Varley also made valuable scoring contributions.

Diarmuid Connolly’s opportunistic goal and two brilliant points were key scores in the opening period as the favourites departed with a 1-8 to 0-6 interval lead.

Connolly slotted a goal in the sixth minute following clever approach work by Enda Varley and Daithi Murphy as Vincent’s settled quickly.

Rhode were gutsy, though, with Niall McNamee nailing two points ensuring the Offaly side only trailed by 1-1 to 0-3 by the ninth minute despite the concession of a major.

But Vincent’s registered five of the next six points with Connolly, Tomas Quinn, Shane Carthy, Varley, and Cormac Diamond all landing fine efforts.

The Dublin standard bearers offered glimpses of their ability, particularly in attack where Diamond and Connolly were industrious.

Diarmuid Connolly was instrumental for St Vincents at O Moore Park.
Diarmuid Connolly was instrumental for St Vincents at O Moore Park.

Again Rhode narrowed the gap courtesy of points from Niall McNamee and Darren Garry before Paschal Kellaghan’s team were awarded a penalty in first half stoppage time.

Former Dublin centre back Ger Brennan was black carded for a foul on Niall McNamee, but Ruairi McNamee’s resultant penalty was well saved by Michael Savage.

Vincent’s quickly moved the ball downfield as Gavin Burke, another important figure for Tommy Conroy’s charges, guided the Marino outfit five clear at the break.

In the third quarter Rhode were encouraged by delightful points from Niall Darby and Garry, but Vincent’s continued to score at the opposite end.

While Rhode reduced the deficit to 1-11 to 0-10 in the 40th minute Vincent’s simply replied reeling four points off without reply.

Quinn (2), substitute Joe Feeney, and Ruairi Trainor clipped scores for Vincent’s, who closed out the game with the minimum of fuss to set up an All Ireland Semi-Final clash with Ulster champions Slaughtneil.

Scorers for St Vincent’s: D Connolly 1-2, T Quinn 0-4 (2fs), G Burke 0-3, E Varley 0-2, S Carthy 0-2, R Trainor 0-1, Cormac Diamond 0-1, J Feeney 0-1.

Scorers for Rhode: N McNamee 0-7 (6fs), D Garry 0-2, C Heavey 0-1, P McPadden 0-1, N Darby 0-1.

St Vincent’s: M Savage; M Concarr, J Curley, C Wilson; N Mullins, G Brennan, Cameron Diamond; D Murphy, S Carthy; G Burke, D Connolly, Cormac Diamond; R Trainor, E Varley, T Quinn.

Subs: F Breathnach for Brennan (31 mins, black card), A Martin for Murphy (39 mins), J Feeney for Martin (44 mins), J McCusker for Cormac Diamond (57 mins), K Bonnie for Varley (60 mins).

*Rhode: *K Garry; B Darby, S Sullivan, N Darby; J McPadden, E Rigney, C Heavey; A McNamee, C McNamee; D Garry, N McNamee, P Sullivan; P McPadden, R McNamee, S Hannon.

Subs: G O’Connell for P Sullivan (40 mins), D Kavanagh for Heavey (55 mins), G McNamee for S Sullivan (56 mins), S Lowry for P McPadden (60 mins), E Byrne for C McNamee (60 mins, black card).

Referee: B Cawley (Kildare).

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions