GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship

Wexford 0-10 4-16 Derry

Round 1
Chadwicks Wexford Park
Anthony Nolan
Extra Time if Necessary
All-Ireland SFC: Derry overwhelm Wexford
Ryan Bell of Derry in action against Eoin Porter of Wexford during the GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Round 1 match between Wexford and Derry at Innovate Wexford Park in Wexford. 

All-Ireland SFC: Derry overwhelm Wexford

All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Qualifier Round 1


By Ronan Fagan at Innovate Wexford Park

Derry netted four times between the 9th and 28th minutes to condemn Wexford to a first-round All-Ireland SFC Qualifier exit on Saturday at Innovate Wexford Park.

Wind-assisted Wexford opened brightly with points from Brian Malone and Conor Devitt.

But Derry soon transformed matters decisively, as Ciarán McFaul pointed before an eighth-minute Benny Heron goal turned the tables by 1-1 to 0-2.

The visitors were unrelenting as Shane McGuigan, Ryan Bell and Enda Lynn helped themselves to further majors to establish a firm foothold after 28 minutes (4-3 to 0-5).

Derry broke leading 4-5 to 0-5 at the interval, and Wexford never seriously threatened thereafter as Derry simply went through the motions to atone for their Ulster exit to Tyrone.

Scorers for Derry: Shane McGuigan 1-4 (0-1f), Ryan Bell 1-3 (0-2fs), Benny Heron 1-2 (0-1f), Enda Lynn 1-1, Conor McAtamney 0-2, Ciarán McFaul, Pádraig Cassidy, Christopher Bradley and Jack Doherty 0-1 each.

Scorers for Wexford: Donal Shanley (2fs) and Tom Byrne 0-2 each, Brian Malone, Conor Devitt, Michael Furlong, Jonathan Bealin (free), Niall Hughes, James Cash 0-1 each.

DERRY: Thomas Mallon, Brendan Rogers, Ruairí Mooney, Karl McKaigue; Jason Rocks, Niall Keenan, Christopher McKaigue; Emmett Bradley, Conor McAtamney; Ryan Bell, Ciarán McFaul, Pádraig Cassidy; Shane McGuigan, Benny Heron, Enda Lynn. Subs: Christopher Bradley for E Bradley (44), Eoghan Concannon for K McKaigue (46), Seán F Quinn for Keenan (46), Jack Doherty for McGuigan (51), Patrick Coney for Lynn (56), Conor Mulholland for Rogers (56).

WEXFORD: Matt Doyle; Michael Furlong, Eoin Porter, Alan Nolan; Conor Devitt, Brian Malone, Martin O'Connor; Daithí Waters, Niall Hughes; Glen Malone, Ben Brosnan, Eoghan Nolan; Kevin O'Grady, David Shannon, Jonathan Bealin. Subs: James Cash for Nolan (24); Tom Byrne for Nolan (29); Shane Doyle for Devitt (ht); Donal Shanley for Bealin (50); John Tubritt for Shannon (50).

REFEREE: Anthony Nolan (Wicklow).