GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship

Dublin 2-17 0-11 Mayo

Páirc an Chrócaigh
David Gough
Extra Time if Necessary
All-Ireland SFC: Dynamic Dublin advance
John Small, Dublin, and Kevin McLoughlin, Mayo, in All-Ireland SFC Semi-Final action at Croke Park. Photo by John Sheridan/Sportsfile

All-Ireland SFC: Dynamic Dublin advance

All-Ireland SFC Quarter-Final

Dublin 2-17 Mayo 0-11

By Cian O’Connell at Croke Park

This was a particularly sweet and satisfying afternoon for Dublin at GAA headquarters.

For more than a decade Dublin and Mayo Championship matches have frequently went the distance. In several chaotic encounters Mayo well and truly examined Dublin’s resources, while also posting memorable wins in 2012 and 2021.

On this occasion when Dublin departed at the break armed with a slender 1-6 to 0-8 advantage another game looked set to be added to the list. Dessie Farrell's charges, though, weren’t following that script.

Instead James McCarthy, one of the influential figures in this win, drove forward from the throw-in, crafted a chance for Paul Mannion to nail a point. It set the tone. Damage was being done by Dublin, who outscored Mayo 1-11 to 0-3 in the second period.

That was a statistic carrying a serious message; Dublin were primed for a battle. Mayo delivered initially and one first half burst yielded four points on the spin following an 18th minute Colm Basquel goal.

Then Mayo were beginning to believe, but before the interval Dublin replied with a burst of three points on the spin. It was critical, especially when a further 1-4 was added after the restart.

A 0-8 to 1-3 deficit was turned into a 2-10 to 0-8 lead. There was no way back for Mayo.

At the outset Mayo had caused Dublin some bother. Ryan O’Donoghue and Tommy Conroy craved involvement inside as the green and red team edged 0-4 to 0-3 ahead in the 17th minute.

Basquel planted an 18th minute goal for Dublin, but Mayo remained defiant. Conroy, O’Donoghue (two), and Aidan O’Shea (free) clipped points for Kevin McStay’s outfit.

Jack Coyne, Mayo, and Con O'Callaghan, Dublin, in All-Ireland SFC Quarter-Final action at Croke Park. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile
Jack Coyne, Mayo, and Con O'Callaghan, Dublin, in All-Ireland SFC Quarter-Final action at Croke Park. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

Suddenly Mayo were two in front, but Dublin concluded the first half strongly. Cormac Costello, sharp inside, converted a couple of frees before captain McCarthy pointed following a Niall Scully goal chance.

When the action recommenced McCarthy added a score as Dublin were in the groove. Further efforts from Basquel and Brian Fenton underlined Dublin’s dominance at this stage.

Mannion, who was a potent threat, and Costello crafted an opportunity for Basquel in the 40th minute for a second Dublin major. Mannion supplied a point for Dublin, who were eight clear with Mayo in distress.

Paddy Durcan struck a point for Mayo, while an Eoghan McLaughlin goal attempt shaved the post with Dublin introducing a string of marquee players. Ciarán Kilkenny announced his arrival with a point, while Jack McCaffrey thundered forward to good effect also.

A Colm Reape point from a 45 proved to be Mayo’s last score with Dublin rifling over five in a row, including scores from substitutes Paddy Small and Dean Rock. It was that sort of day for Dublin, who face Monaghan in the penultimate round.

Scorers for Dublin: Colm Basquel 2-2, Cormac Costello 0-5 (3fs), James McCarthy, Paul Mannion, and Con O’Callaghan 0-2 each, Ciarán Kilkenny, Paddy Small, Brian Fenton, and Dean Rock 0-1 each.

Scorers for Mayo: Ryan O’Donoghue 0-5 (2fs), Tommy Conroy 0-2, Paddy Durcan, Jordan Flynn, Colm Reape (45), and Aidan O’Shea (f) 0-1 each.

Dublin: Stephen Cluxton; Eoin Murchan, David Byrne, Michael Fitzsimons; John Small, Brian Howard, Lee Gannon; James McCarthy, Brian Fenton; Niall Scully, Seán Bugler, Cormac Costello; Paul Mannion, Con O’Callaghan, Colm Basquel.

Subs: Jack McCaffrey for Murchan (46), Ciarán Kilkenny for Bugler (47), Paddy Small for Scully (54), Tom Lahiff for Costello (65), Dean Rock for Basquel (70).

Mayo: Colm Reape; Pádraig O’Hora, David McBrien, Sam Callinan; Paddy Durcan, Stephen Coen, Jack Coyne; Mattie Ruane, Diarmuid O’Connor; Eoghan McLaughlin, Jack Carney, Jordan Flynn; Tommy Conroy, Aidan O’Shea, Ryan O’Donoghue.

Subs: Enda Hession for O’Hora (32), Cillian O’Connor for O’Shea (46), Kevin McLoughlin for McLaughlin (53), James Carr for Ruane (58), Donnacha McHugh for Coen (59), Jason Doherty for Callinan (70).

Referee: David Gough (Meath).